Nominations Sought for Distinguished Faculty Award

2/28/2011 | By: Staff Report  |

Nominations should include a letter of nomination and a curriculum vita for the candidate.

The award is intended to honor faculty who are unsung heroes - men and women whose contributions have made our university a better place.

With that in mind, the following criteria will be considered:

  1. Career-long association with the University of Nevada, Reno
  2. Significant involvement and interaction with faculty development, public outreach, and programmatic innovation at the University of Nevada, Reno
  3. Record of leadership or influential roles at the University of Nevada, Reno
  4. Candidates must be retiring or recently retired (no more than one year)

Nominations may be made by any member of the university community, so please feel free to circulate this announcement. Nominations must be received by Friday, March 18; they should be sent to:

Janet Sanderson
President's Office/Mail Stop 0001

Previous Winners:

  • 1995: Phil Altick, Physics
  • 1996: James Hulse, History
  • 1997: John Chappel, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
  • 1998: James McCormick, Art
  • 1999: William Douglass, Basque Studies
  • 2000: Anne Howard, English
  • 2001: Ross Smith, Chemical/Metallurgical Engineering
  • 2002: Robert Merrill, English
  • 2003: Hyung Shin, Chemistry
  • 2004: Jerome Edwards, History
  • 2005: Barbara Thornton, School of Public Health
  • 2006: Don D. Fowler, Anthropology
  • 2007: David Westfall, Pharmacology
  • 2008: Ann Ronald, English
  • 2009: Richard Davies, History
  • 2010: Carol Parkhurst, University Library


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!