Campus accomplishment recognized at Honor the Best

5/19/2008 | By: Patrick McDonnell  |

The University’s 24 emeritus faculty, its three new Foundation Professors and a host of award-winning members of the campus community received recognition for outstanding achievements May 14 at the annual Honor the Best ceremony.

The event, an annual rite of campus life since 1970, was held for the first time in the new Joe Crowley Student Union Ballroom. Jannet Vreeland, University interim provost and executive vice president, was the emcee.

Of the two dozen faculty who joined the University’s emeritus ranks, they had contributed almost 700 years of cumulative service. The honorees were:

  • Ron Bailey, School of Public Health
  • Thomas Barcia, radiology
  • Peter Brussard, biology
  • Bob Dillard, speech communication and theatre
  • Mary Finn Maples, counseling and educational psychology
  • Chaitan Gupta, mathematics
  • Rena Hanks, Admissions and Records
  • Harvey Lambert, mathematics
  • Carl Looney, computer science and engineering
  • Carol Ort, biology
  • Gary Peltier, educational leadership
  • Thomas Ringkob, animal science
  • Ann Ronald, English
  • Charles Rose, chemistry
  • Phillip Ruder, music
  • Richard Rust, biology
  • David Seibert, speech communication and theatre
  • Angela Taylor, Student Success Services
  • Tracey Veach, psychology and behavioral science
  • William Welch, biochemistry
  • Steve Wheatcraft, hydrogeology
  • Robert Wilson, Cooperative Extension
  • Bob Winzeler, anthropology
  • Jeanne Yamamura, accounting

Diane Barone, a professor of literacy studies, Victoria Follette, psychology department chair and professor, and Steve Wesnousky, a geological sciences professor and director of the Center for Neotectonic Studies, were recognized as 2008 Foundation Professors. Wesnousky was also winner of the F. Donald Tibbitts University Distinguished Teacher of the Year award. Tammy Abernathy Vinyard of the educational specialties department and Ahmad Itani of the civil and environmental engineering department were Tibbitts award runner-ups.

Other award-winners were:

  • Distinguished Outreach Faculty, Vernon Luft, College of Education
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor, Brian Frost, chemistry
  • University Undergraduate Advisor Award, Laurie Beck, College of Health and Human Sciences
  • University Graduate Advisor Award, Richard Tracy, biology
  • Distinguished Teaching Assistant of the Year, Waleed Abusrour, political science/Ann-Marie Vollstedt, mechanical engineering
  • Student Employee of the Year, Shelby Gregory, Admissions and Records
  • Cavanaugh Community Volunteer Award, student Courtney Bell, sociology and speech communication
  • Henry Albert Senior Public Service Award, students Courtney Bell, Kaitlin Brush (political science/English), Monika Mala (journalism) and Stephanie Casino (art)
  • Phi Kappa Phi Award, student Leigh Armijo, biochemistry
  • Ruth Russell Senior Women’s Athlete of the Year, Jordan McPherson, softball
  • Doc Martie Senior Men’s Athlete of the Year, Marcelus Kemp, basketball
  • Outstanding Senior Awards, Dana Henry, speech pathology and audiology, and Paul Dente, nursing
  • Outstanding Graduating Graduate Student, Paul Roth, music
  • Outstanding Graduate Student Researcher, Rajan Chakrabarty, chemical physics
  • Governor’s Award, student Lindsay Barnes, criminal justice
  • President’s Award, student Philip Riglick, management
  • President’s Award for Outstanding Committee Service, Leah Wilds, political science
  • Thornton Peace Prize, University’s Campus Escort Service and student Joaquin Rafael Roces, international affairs
  • Regents’ Academic Advisor Award, Undergraduate, Laurie Beck
  • Regents’ Academic Advisor Award, Graduate, Richard Tracy
  • Regents’ Scholar Award, Undergraduate, Jessica Ford, physics
  • Regents’ Scholar Award, Graduate, Rashi Tiwari, mechanical engineering
  • Regents’ Researcher Award, Thomas Cargill, economics
  • Outstanding Researcher of the Year Award, Iain Buxton, pharmacology
  • Classified Employee of the Year, Fred Reid, art
  • Distinguished Service Award, Buzz Nelson, Facilities Services
  • Distinguished Faculty Award, Ann Ronald


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!