Journalism celebrates 'The Lighting of the Hearth'

11/28/2007 | By: Staff Report  |

Reynolds School of Journalism students, faculty, alumni and friends will celebrate receipt of a $3.17 million endowment to fund the Paul A. Leonard Chair in Ethics and Writing in Journalism and the Paul A. and Gwen F. Leonard Memorial Scholarship at "The Lighting of the Hearth," in the Travis Linn Reading Room, Dec. 6, at 5 p.m.

"During their lifetimes, Paul and Gwen Leonard supported the University and the journalism school," said Rosemary McCarthy, interim dean. "Their daughter, Rev. Jackie Leonard, fulfilled their final bequest to establish an endowment and scholarships that will continue to elevate the journalism school to national prominence."

The Lighting of the Hearth is an annual event that celebrates the accomplishments of the Reynolds School of Journalism, which has had several noteworthy achievements in 2007, and, in addition, has had to overcome a great deal of adversity with the death of Dean Cole Campbell in a January 2007 automobile accident.

Last October, the school honored Clay Jenkinson, humanities scholar, celebrated author, social commentator and one of the nation's leading interpreters of Thomas Jefferson.

Also, the interactive website,, developed by graduate students in interactive journalism, tied for first place in the student journalism category of the Online News Association competition on Oct. 19. The Online News Association praised the website "for making an effort to draw in the audience and giving them the tools to be part of the solution to a community problem."

During a national tour of its 160-year retrospective, The Associated Press chose the journalism school as an exhibit stop for "Breaking News: How the Associated Press Has Covered War, Peace, and Everything Else," Oct 1-5.

The journalism school participated in the inaugural Cole C. Campbell Dialogue on Democracy, which examined the U.S. Constitution relative to contemporary journalism, Sept. 18.

The Donald W. Reynolds Foundation approved a grant of $1.5 million to the Reynolds School of Journalism and Advanced Media Studies last August.

Also, the journalism school hosted a two-week intensive training session for 33 high-school teachers from July 15-27. The Reynolds High School Journalism Institute, as it is officially named, is part of the American Society of Newspaper Editors (ASNE) training programs to help high-school teachers become better journalism advisers.

"It's a pleasure to gather with friends to recognize those who have shaped the journalism school and contributed to its success," said Kristin Burgarello, director of development.

Honorees at prior celebrations include journalism professors Travis Linn and Warren Lerude, Joe Crowley, president emeritus of the University, author Bruce Laxalt, and Ted Conover and Alfred Higginbotham, the first two department chairs of the journalism program.


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!