skip to main content

The Team

Thomas White Thomas White Executive Director of Marketing & Communications

Thomas fosters an title and collaborative workplace where big ideas are encouraged and steady excellence is the goal. As an optimistic observer of the possibilities, he believes good marketing is equal parts realism and idealism.

Thomas also trusts that none of us is as smart of all of us, so he and his talented team work collaboratively with their University partners to provide a communications framework through which to reveal the academic might and authenticity found in abundance at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Together, they develop technology and metric-driven programs driven by compelling design and messaging that deepen the connection to target audiences in sustainable ways.

(775) 784-4832
thomaswhite@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Operations


Photo of Mike McDowell Mike McDowell Manager of Marketing Operations

Mike is responsible for increasing the efficiency and effectiveness of the Office of Marketing and Communications via development and implementation of departmental strategies, policies and practices.

(775) 784-4804
mikemcdowell@unr.edu

Creative Services


David Branby David Branby Creative Director

As manager of the University of Nevada, Reno brand, David provides creative direction, creative campaign writing and oversight of University-wide brand compliance.

(775) 784-6187
dbranby@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Jodi Tenenbaum Jodi Tenenbaum Graphic Designer

Jodi crafts the look and feel for several University units, including the Office for Prospective Students.

(775) 784-1214
jtenenbaum@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Lucy Walker Lucy Walker Support Specialist

Even as a part-timer, Lucy manages to offer both user support and management of digital assets.

(775) 784-1580
lwalker@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Web Development


Photo of Deaon Kolbet-Clausell Deaon Kolbet-Clausell Director of Web Development

Deaon makes the web.

(775) 682-7643
deaon@unr.edu

Raymond Lee Raymond Lee Web Developer

Ray makes the web work.

(775) 784-1581
rlee01@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Oswaldo Mendoza

Oswaldo Mendoza

Web Designer

Oswaldo makes the web look good.

(775) 784-1581
mendozao@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Digital Marketing


Michael Brown

Michael Brown

Director of Digital Marketing

Michael takes an analytics-driven approach in online media, marketing, and content strategy.

(775) 784-1580
msbrown@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Photo of Karl Fendelander

Karl Fendelander

Chief Content Strategist

Karl works with communicators across campus to tell, manage and promote stories about our beautiful University.

(775) 682-7639
kfendelander@unr

Photo of Robert Beaupre

Robert Beaupre

Web Media Manager

Robert works to ensure excellent content, user experience and marketability across the University website.

(775) 784-4616
rbeaupre@unr.edu

Communications


John Trent

John Trent

Senior Editor, News & Features

John writes news and feature stories chronicling the major accomplishments and life of the University.

(775) 784-4959
jtrent@unr.edu

Kerri Garcia

Kerri Garcia

Director of Communications

Topic Areas.

  • Office of the President
  • Office of the Provost
  • Central University administration: development, facilities, human resources, information technology, police, student services
  • Student recruitment, success and engagement

(775) 784-1880
kerrig@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Mike Wolterbeek

Mike Wolterbeek

Communications Officer

Topic Areas.

  • Agriculture
  • Biotechnology
  • Engineering
  • Environmental sciences, renewable energy
  • Industry collaborations, technology transfer
  • Natural resources
  • Research
  • Science

(775) 784-4547
mwolterbeek@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Natalie Savidge

Natalie Savidge

Senior Communications Specialist

Topic Areas.

  • General University inquiries
  • Liberal arts and humanities
  • Criminal justice
  • Psychology and sociology

(775) 784-4611
nsavidge@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Nicole Shearer

Nicole Shearer

Communications Officer

Topic Areas.

  • Business and economics
  • Education
  • Environmental issues and sustainability
  • Gaming/gambling
  • Health, including community health and nursing
  • Politics and political science
  • Student services including student recruitment, success and engagement, student causes, programs, events and government
  • Police Services
  • University Social Media

(775) 784-1169
nshearer@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Claudia Ortega-Lukas

Claudia Ortega-Lukas

Graphic Designer

Claudia creates compelling designs for many of the University's divisions, colleges and schools.

(775) 784-6127
cortega@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Division-Based Staff


Cindy Pratte

Cindy Pratte

Web Communications Specialist

Cindy provides web content support for the College of Agriculture, Biotechnology & Natural Resources and the College of Science.

(775) 682-6720
cpratte@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Kirstin Swagman

Kirstin Swagman

Web Communications Specialist

Kirstin provides web content support for the College of Engineering and its five academic departments.

(775) 682-7753
kswagman@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Yun Ku

Yun Ku

Web Communications Specialist

Yun provides web content support for the College of Liberal Arts and the School of the Arts.

(775) 682-7506
yku@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Alex Vanderhoff

Alex Vanderhoff

Web Communications Specialist

Alex provides web content support for the Division of Research & Innovation.

(775) 682-7515
alexv@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Student Interns


Brett Knadle

Brett Knadle

Web Development Intern

A Senior in Computer Science and Engineering, Brett is excellent at data analysis.

(775) 682-9247
bknadle@unr.edu

Ryan Battistone

Ryan Battistone

Web Development Intern

Ryan has the continuous responsibility of website maintenance. He implements a full stack web development approach to research and develop ways to make sites more marketable, engaging and secure.

(775) 682-9247
rbattistone@unr.edu

Matthew Ravaglioli

Matthew Ravaglioli

Marketing and Communications Intern

An artist and a writer, Matt loves working in a variety of areas related to promotional development and content.

(775) 784-4542
mravaglioli@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Take the next step...