University Balloon Race Scholarship recipients named

University students Taylor Seidler and Jax Skye awarded scholarships

University student Taylor Seidler, left, and Jax Skye are the 2017 University Balloon Race Scholarship recipients.

8/11/2017 | By: Staff Report  |

The University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee has been in existence since 1986 and has awarded scholarship funds since the early 1990s.  The University Balloon Race Scholarships have been distributed each year since 1999.  The committee exists to raise the money to award two scholarships a year; one to an undergraduate student and one to a graduate student.

The committee is pleased to announce Taylor Seidler as the graduate student recipient and Jax Skye as the undergraduate student recipient for the 2017-2018 academic year.

Seidler is pursuing a master's degree in psychology with an emphasis in behavior analysis.  She hopes to work with children with autism.  She wants to make a difference in their lives.  Seidler is involved with several research projects that are centered around early behavioral intervention.  She plans on getting her doctorate after she completes her master's degree.

Related Link

Skye is a junior majoring in neuroscience. Skye has a keen interest in perception and consciousness. Since coming to the University of Nevada, Reno, Skye has been involved with various college activities. Skye looks forward to conducting psychology experiments.  Attending college is very important and Jax feels the best investment one can do is obtain a college education.

The University Balloon Race Scholarship Committee would like to congratulate Seidler and Skye for their hard work and encourage everyone to attend the Great Reno Balloon Race at Rancho San Rafael Park Sept. 8-10, 2017.  


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!