Distinguished faculty nominations due by March 20

3/9/2009 | By: Staff Report  |

Nominations for the Distinguished Faculty Award are now being accepted by the committee.

Nominations should include a letter of nomination and a curriculum vita for the candidate. The following criteria will be considered:

  1. Length of association with the University of Nevada, Reno
  2. Amount of involvement and interaction with faculty, public outreach, and governance at the University of Nevada, Reno
  3. Type of leadership or influential roles at the University of Nevada, Reno

The award is typically given to someone who is retiring or who has recently retired.
Nominations may be made by any member of the university community, so please feel free to circulate this announcement. Nominations must be received by Friday, March 20; please send them to :

Janet Sanderson
President’s Office/Mail Stop 0001

Previous Winners:

  • 1995 Phil Altick, Physics
  • 1996 James Hulse, History
  • 1997 John Chappel, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
  • 1998 James McCormick, Art
  • 1999 William Douglass, Basque Studies
  • 2000 Anne Howard, English
  • 2001 Ross Smith, Chemical/Metallurgical Engineering
  • 2002 Robert Merrill, English
  • 2003 Hyung Shin, Chemistry
  • 2004 Jerome Edwards, History
  • 2005 Barbara Thornton, School of Public Health
  • 2006 Don D. Fowler, Anthropology
  • 2007 David Westfall, Pharmacology
  • 2008 Ann Ronald, English


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!