University honors wide range of achievement

5/27/2008 | By: Zanny Marsh  |

Each May and December, the University’s commencement ceremonies honor the academic achievement of undergraduate and graduate students. Annually, the campus’ colleges and schools, along with many community organizations, also pause to recognize scholarship and service of faculty and staff. Several programs also present additional awards to undergraduate and graduate students.

Recipients of these outstanding achievements include:

College of Agriculture, Biotechnology and Natural Resources
Jamie Benedict, associate professor of nutrition; Outstanding Teacher
Roger Brown; information technology technician; Outstanding Staff Employee
Ron Mittler, associate professor of biochemistry and molecular biology; Outstanding Researcher

College of Business
Tom Cargill, professor of economics; Nevada System of Higher Education Researcher of the Year
Craig Carter, associate professor of managerial sciences; Researcher of the Year
Jim Sundali, associate professor of managerial sciences; Excellence in Teaching Award

College of Education
Tammy Abernathy, associate professor of educational specialties; runner-up, F. Donald Tibbitts Memorial Distinguished Teacher Award
Diane Barone, professor of educational specialties; Foundation Professor of educational specialties
Ginny Beck, special education doctoral student; Outstanding Teaching Assistant
Michael Dornoo, educational specialties doctoral student; Teaching Recognition Award
Vern Luft, Distinguished Outreach Faculty Award

College of Engineering
A.J. Frabbiele; College of Engineering Outstanding Student Service Award
Rashi Tiwari; Regents’ Graduate Scholar Award

Chemical and Materials Engineering
Trisha Wesner; Outstanding Senior in Chemical Engineering
Jason Hastings; Outstanding Service in Chemical Engineering

Jack Brooks; Outstanding Senior in Materials Engineering
Hailey Murdock; Outstanding Service in Materials Engineering

Civil and Environmental Engineering
Nathan Harrison; Outstanding Senior
Robert Coomes; Outstanding Service Award

Computer Science & Engineering Department
Joe Mahsman; Outstanding Senior
Jennifer Knowles; Outstanding Service Award

Electrical Engineering
Mike Schreiber; Outstanding Senior
Jason Andersen; Outstanding Service Award

Mechanical Engineering
Travis Pyne; Outstanding Senior
Scott Waters; Outstanding Service Award

Candice Bauer, lecturer and recipient of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ Old Guard Early Career Award and ASME Vice President. (Bauer is the youngest vice president of the Center for Professional Development, Practice and Ethics in the organization’s history)
Miles Greiner, professor of mechanical engineering; Lemelson Award for Innovation and Invention in Teaching, Research or Service
Schinthia Islam; Donald Othmer; National American Institute of Chemical Engineers Sophomore Academic Excellence Award
Ahmad Itani, professor of civil and environmental engineering; runner-up for the F. Donald Tibbitts Outstanding Teacher Award and recipient of the Ralph and Rose Hoeper Excellence in Teaching and Advisement Award
Yanyao Jiang, professor of mechanical engineering; and Kwang Kim, professor and chair of mechanical engineering, were elected Fellows of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers
Ann-Marie Vollstedt; Outstanding Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics Teaching Assistant
Xuan Wang, Ellis Mathes Scholarship

College of Liberal Arts
Monica Miller, assistant professor of criminal justice; Dean’s Award for Outstanding Research and Artistry
Emma Sepulveda Pulvirenti; Foundation Professor of foreign languages and literatures and director of the Latino Research Center; Dean’s Award for Service
Lynni Weibezahl, foreign languages and literatures lecturer; Dean’s Award for Outstanding Teaching and Service by a Member of the Part-Time or Contingent Faculty
Chris Williams, associate professor of philosophy; Dean’s Award for Outstanding Teaching by a Member of the Continuing Faculty
Mimi Yu, foreign languages and literatures lecturer and director of the multimedia laboratory; Alan Bible Teaching Excellence Award
Liming Zhang, assistant professor of chemistry; The Mousel-Feltner Award for Excellence in Research and/or Creative Activity

College of Science
Eve Chung, Westfall Scholar*
Carol Ort, vice provost and professor of biology emerita and scholar mentor

Bachelor of Science in Biology “With Distinction” Awards
Charleston Chua
Conrad Kiyoshi
Maria Marshall
Michael Springer

Stephen Percival, Westfall Scholar
Sean Casey, associate professor of chemistry and scholar mentor

Michael Johnson, Westfall Scholar
Jill Heaton, assistant professor of geography and scholar mentor

Geological Sciences & Engineering
Sara Pettitt, Westfall Scholar
Jim Carr, professor of geological sciences and scholar mentor

Mathematics & Statistics
Jeff Knauss, Westfall Scholar
Valentin Deaconu, assistant professor of mathematics and statistics and scholar mentor

Jes Ford, Westfall Scholar
Melodi Rodrigue, physics lecturer and scholar mentor, and Radu Presura, assistant professor of physics and scholar mentor

LeMay Excellence in Teaching Award
Stanislav Jabuka, assistant professor of mathematics and statistics

Hyung K. Shin Excellence in Research Award
Franco Biondi, associate professor of geography

College of Science Classified Appreciation Award
Lucy Morris, administrative assistant in the department of biology

Excellence in Scholarship Award from Mathematics and Statistics
Luke Williams, Fares Qeadan (graduate)

*Westfall Scholars are the top 2008 graduating seniors in each department

College of Health and Human Sciences
Eric Albers, associate professor of social work; Nevada Social Worker of the Year
Laurie Beck, advising, retention and recruitment coordinator; NSHE Advisor of the Year
Charlie Bullock, acting dean; Nevada Business Journal Health Care Hero
Nora Constantino, School of Public Health associate professor; Teaching Award

Orvis School of Nursing
Lisa Black, assistant professor of nursing; Northern Nevada Nurses of Achievement Award for Leadership

Reynolds School of Journalism
Paul Mitchell, recruitment and retention coordinator; Nevada Semenza Award for Teaching Excellence


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!