School of Medicine Employee of the Year awards

2/15/2007 | By: Staff Report  |

Dagmar Copenhaver, from the Reno admissions and student affairs department, and Anita Prince, of the Las Vegas Human Resources department, won the University of Nevada School of Medicine Employee of the Year awards for 2006.

Every December, Nevada school of medicine celebrates employees in both the Reno and Las Vegas branches for their hard work and their contributions to the college.

Colleagues are free to nominate employees they believe qualify for the award at the beginning of October. The nomination forms present a set of established criteria including contributions to the school of medicine, their attitude towards colleagues and to their work, the quality of their work and outside involvement with the community.

The score system for the nomination forms ranges from three points to zero points. The scores are tallied and the nominees who have the highest scores are reviewed by the committee. The nominees also need three letters of reference.

The winners are presented with a plaque at the Dean's Christmas party and a financial reward of $500.

Copenhaver won the 2006 Employee of the Year award at the school of medicine in Reno because of her competence and willingness to cooperate with others.

"She's been in the department of admissions for many years," said Luci Young, administrative assistant at the school of medicine. "She has outstanding work habits and knowledge of her job."

The winners of the School of Medicine employee of the year award and honorable mentions in Reno and Las Vegas are listed below:


2006 Employee of the Year: Dagmar Copenhaver, Admissions and Student Affairs

Certificate of Appreciation (recognizing their nomination):

  • Mary Ann Henry, Human Resources
  • Carol Cuthill, Psychiatry
  • Bill Oberding, Savitt Library IT Dept.


2006 Employee of the Year: Anita Prince, Human Resources

Certificate of Appreciation (recognizing their nomination):

  • Tami Seoane, Psychiatry


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!