College of Liberal Arts recognizes faculty achievement

5/4/2007 | By: Staff Report  |

The College of Liberal Arts recognized outstanding faculty and staff achievement at the annual awards ceremony, May 2.

Dean Heather Hardy, presented the awards for teaching excellence, research or creative activity, service and to the classified staff member of the year. All nominations were submitted by colleagues.

"The end of the academic year offers a special opportunity to honor the faculty and staff who serve the college and its students," Hardy said.

The Alan Bible Teaching Excellence Award was established in 1983 in honor of Nevada Senator Alan Bible as a means of "building morale and enthusiasm among the staff in Arts and Letters." The award pre-dated the establishment of the College of Liberal Arts and the College of Science so faculty members from both colleges are eligible for consideration.

The Mousel-Feltner Award for Excellence in Research and Creativity acknowledges a wide range of accomplishments, scholarship, artistry, and creative activity that benefits the university and the community. In 1993, Carol Mousel and Barbara Feltner established the award in recognition of the support provided to the College of Arts and Sciences for many years.

The winners include:

  • Alan Bible Teaching Excellence Award: Bernie Schopen, core humanities; Tamara Scronce, art; runner-up
  • Mousel-Feltner Award for Excellence in Research and/or Creative Activity: Tomasz Kozubowski, mathematics/statistics; Ann Keniston, English, runner up
  • Dean's Award for Service: Larry Engstrom, School of the Arts
  • Dean's Award for Outstanding Research and Artistry: Bruce Moran, history
  • Dean's Award for Teaching Gwen Hullman, speech communication and theatre
  • Deans Award for Outstanding Teaching and Service by a member of the part-time or contingent faculty: Melody Gough, English
  • Classified Staff of the Year Award: Kathy O'Keefe, Philosophy


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!