The Frandsen Humanities Building was built in 1917-18, and was designed by W.L. Lewis of the Reno architectural firm of Lewis, Ellory, & Sexton. It originally contained the College of Agriculture, and several agricultural and home economics laboratories. The building was reopened in May 2000 after a two-year, $2.9 million renovation, and is home to office and classroom space for the Department of English. Considered one of the most picturesque buildings on campus, Frandsen Humanities overlooks Manzanita Lake. The building is named of honor of Peter “Bugs” Frandsen, a well-known and beloved Nevada biology professor whose career at Nevada spanned 40 years. Frandsen, a member of the University’s class of 1895, produced more than 100 students who went on to careers in medicine, dentistry or nursing.