Recommendation Criteria

Dean's Future Scholars does not and shall not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, creed, national origin, veteran status, physical or mental disability, sexual orientation, genetic information, gender identity, or gender expression in any of its activities or operations.

Selection Criteria for Dean's Future Scholars Program Participants:

  • Recommendations traditionally come from counselors, teachers, and principals from selected Title 1 schools in the Washoe County School District (the number of selected program participants depends on availability).
  • Students preferably qualify for free and reduced lunch and/or are the first generation of the family to attend college.
  • Students must exhibit an interest in going to college and/or entering the field of education.

Title 1 DFS Feeder Schools

  • Agnes Risley Elementary
  • Alice Smith Elementary
  • Desert Heights Elementary
  • Echo Loder Elementary
  • Fred W. Traner Middle
  • Katherine Dunn Elementary
  • Lemelson Elementary
  • Libby C. Booth Elementary
  • Lincoln Park Elementary
  • Lois Allen Elementary
  • Natchez Elementary
  • Roger Corbett Elementary
  • Stead Elementary
  • Sun Valley Elementary
  • Veterans Memorial Elementary