Lock down options

The following Proctorio options allow you to “lock down” certain elements of the student’s web browser during the exam.

Screen clipping of the Proctorio Lock Down Options. The options are: Force Full Screen, Only One Screen, Disable New Tabs, Close Open Tabs, Disable Printing, Disable Clipboard, Block Downloads, Clear Cache, Disable Right Click, and Prevent Re-entry.
[Figure 1] Screen clipping of the Proctorio Lock Down Options. The options are: Force Full Screen, Only One Screen, Disable New Tabs, Close Open Tabs, Disable Printing, Disable Clipboard, Block Downloads, Clear Cache, Disable Right Click, and Prevent Re-entry.]

Force full screen

 The force full screen setting creates an additional locked down aspect for the student. This setting will force the exam to be taken in a full screen mode. When paired with Only One Screen, this setting ensures students do not use outside resources on their computer during their exam. The student will not be able to minimize the exam or navigate away from the exam page (e.g., use other programs) or the exam will be immediately submitted.

There are three settings for Force Full Screen:

  1. Lenient (30 seconds) - Allows students to be out of Full Screen for 30 seconds before being kicked out of the exam
  2. Moderate (15 seconds) - Allows students to be out of Full Screen for 15 seconds before being kicked out of the exam
  3. Severe (immediate) - Students are kicked out of the exam immediately upon exiting Full Screen.

[Note: If re-entry is permitted the students may be permitted to resume the exam.]

Only one screen

This setting prevents the student from using multiple monitors. Proctorio will detect the presence of an extra monitor and require the test taker to disconnect it prior to starting the exam. When paired with Force Full Screen, this setting ensures students do not use outside resources on their computer during their exam.

Disable new tabs 

This option disables the opening of new browser tabs during the exam. However, it does not mean that the student will not have access to other website content. If the student has tabs open before the exam begins, then they will be able to look at these tabs. There are three settings for Disable New Tabs: (1) Tabs Allowed: Students are permitted to open additional tabs within the Chrome browser; (2) Disable New Tabs: Students cannot open additional tabs within the Chrome browser; (3) In Quiz Links Only: Students are permitted to access links provided by the instructor within the quiz. When paired with Close Open Tabs, the student is unable to access websites during the exam. [Note: Only one link is permitted per exam.]

Close open tabs 

This option closes all other open tabs at the start of the exam. If the student has additional tabs open, they will be prompted to close the tabs or use the Bookmark My Tabs extension to save their current tabs before they are automatically closed. When paired with Disable New Tabs, the student cannot visit other websites during the exam.

Disable printing 

This setting will prevent the student from printing the exam via keyboard shortcut or right-click and print. This is a preventive measure to ensure students cannot share exam questions or paste answers from outside sources. When paired with Disable Right Click and Disable Clipboard your exam is secure and cannot be shared with other students.

Disable clipboard 

This setting will block the students from using copy, cut and paste. This is a preventive measure to ensure students cannot share exam questions or paste answers from outside sources. When paired with Disable Right Click and Disable Printing your exam is secure and cannot be shared with other students.

Block downloads

This feature will prevent students from downloading anything during the exam, including the exam itself and any files from websites or external sources.  If the student attempts to download anything, Proctorio will prevent the download from occurring and provide a warning to the student that the exam attempt has been suspended.

Clear cache

This setting removes all traces of the exam from the students' computer after completion. This setting will clear any temporary files stored in the browser or hard drive that were obtained after the start of the exam. This feature prevents students from searching temporary internet files to replicate the exam.

Disable right click

 This setting prevents the student from right clicking within the exam window. This feature protects against accessing the print menu, page source, and developer tools via the mouse.

Prevent re-entry

This setting allows instructors to choose whether students may re-enter the exam, re-enter the exam with approval from Proctorio, or submit the exam in one sitting without exception. It may be enabled to prevent students from receiving potentially unauthorized help off camera while the remote proctor is not recording.