Student Achievements

 July 2018

Jianqing Wu was awarded the 2018 ITE Dan Fambro Student Paper Award for his paper titled "An Automatic Procedure for Vehicle Tracking with a Roadside LiDAR Sensor". Official recognition and presentation will be at the Joint ITE International and Midwestern/Great Lakes District Awards Luncheon in August in Minneapolis.

April 2018

Jianqing Wu of UNR continues with marked success as he was awarded the ITE Western District Student Paper Award for "An Automatic Procedure for Vehicle Tracking with a Roadside Lidar Sensor", which he will present at the 2018 ITE Joint Western and Texas District Meeting. In addition, his submission to the ITE Intermountatin Section Student Paper Competition was selected as the winning paper. He will present "Vehicle-Pedestrian Near-Crash Identification with Roadside LiDAR Data" at the 58th Annual Intermountain Section Meeting in Jackson, Wy in May where he will also receive a $400 award.

May 2017

UNR grad student Jianqing Wu was awarded the ITE Intermountain Section Scholarship and was also selected as a Western District ITE Regional Travel Scholarship recipient. He will attend the ITE Annual Meeting in San Diego on June 18-21.

October 2016

Guangchuan Yang won Best Student Paper for his presentation titled "Feasibility of Using Constant Acceleration Rate for Acceleration Lane Length Design" at the Fall Transportation Conference in Las Vegas. He was  among four other UNR students selected to present, walking away with a $500 cash prize.

August 2016

Jianqing Wu at 5th International Symposium on NDRAs one of the TRB student paper contest winners, UNR student Jianqing Wu presented "Effect and Influence of Different Factors on Driver Behavior when Vehicles Make Right Turn at Signalized Intersections" at the Fifth International Symposium on Naturalistic Driving Research, hosted by the National Surface Transportation Safety Center for Excellence in Blacksburg, Virginia.

A publication by UNR PhD student Johny Habbouche has been accepted for publication in ASTM International's Advances in Civil Engineering Materials journal. The publication is titled "Laboratory and Economic Evaluation of Thin Lift Asphalt Overlay for Pavement Preservation."

April 2016

Johny HabboucheJohny Habbouche of UNR received recognition for outstanding contributions to the graduate student community at the Unity and Diversity Conference. He was also awarded with the Outstanding International Graduate Student Scholarship Award for 2015-2016 as well as the College of Engineering Scholarship for two years in a row. Habbouche is a PhD Candidate in the Pavements/Materials program and has been supported by SOLARIS since the beginning of his graduate studies.

January 2016

Yuan Sun Jianqing WuUNR Graduate students Jianqing Wu, Yuan Sun and undergraduate student Daniel Rodriguez were selected to present in the SHRP 2 Safety Data Bonanza Student Paper Competition at the TRB annual meeting on Jan. 10-14. Only four graduate and two undergraduate student abstracts were selected, giving UNR half of those slots.

Anabel Hernandez SOLARIS UTC Student of the Year 2015Graduate student Anabel Hernandez was selected as the 2015 Student of the Year for the SOLARIS UTC. She was honored at the CUTC annual banquet in Washington, D.C. on Jan. 9.

September 2015

PhD candidate Guangchuan Yang's paper titled "Vehicle Speed and Acceleration Profile Study for Metered On-Ramps in California" has been accepted for publication in the ASCE's Journal of Transportation Engineering. This is his second journal paper based on his research.

NVAPA winnersGraduate student Andrew Jayankura and Research Scholar Dongmei Lin received a first prize of $750 at the 2015 Nevada Chapter of the American Planning Association Annual Conference for their poster submissions. PhD candidates Ali Gholami and Guangchuan Yang received the second and third prize of of $500 and $250, respectively. The poster session was held on September 12 at the University of Nevada, Reno where posters were voted on by 35 elected officials, government executives and consultants in the areas of planning, transportation and economic development.

May 2015

PhD candidate Ali Gholami attended the ITE annual meeting on May 13 and won first place for his paper titled "Estimating Intersection Turning Values from Traffic Signal Information," earning him a $600 prize. Yue Zhao, PhD candidate, won second place for her paper titled "Screening Urban Road Network for Corridors with Promise" and also received a $400 prize.

February 2015

Guangchuan YangPhD candidate Guangchuan Yang's paper titled "Acceleration Characteristics at Metered On-Ramps" was accepted for publication in the Journal of Transportation Research Record.

January 2015

Helen Overly Graduate Scholarship Winner Graduate student Anabel Hernandez was one of the recipients of the Helen M. Overly Memorial Graduate Scholarship awarded in January from Women in Transportation organization. The scholarship awards $2,000 to Hernandez for her dedication to transportation engineering, an outstanding academic record and involvement in related activities.

Diana Maragakis, Student of the YearGraduate student Diana Maragakis was awarded Student of the Year at the Council of University Transportation Center's banquet and received a $1,000 cash award for her efforts and success at SOLARIS.

May 2014

Ali and Rasool

On May 15-17, several UNITE Student Chapter members attended the Intermountain Section ITE Annual Meeting and participated in the student paper competition. Ali Gholami and Rasool Andalibian received the first and second prize for the paper competition, with an award of $600 and $400 respectively.

January 2014

Yue Zhao received the Helene M. Overly Memorial Scholarship from Women's Transportation Seminar (WTS) with a $1,000 cash award.