Nevada Silver and BlueMake a Gift

Summer 2011 Faculty Awards

Scott Mensing
Nevada Professor of the Year, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching/Council for Advancement and Support of Education.

All Regent’s Award Winners:

Eric Rasmussen
Regents’ Teaching Award
2010 F. Donald Tibbitts Distinguished Teacher Award

Sergiu Dascalu
F. Donald Tibbitts Distinguished Teacher Award

Iain Buxton
Regents’ Researcher Award

Monica Miller
Regents’ Rising Researcher Award

Michael Webster
University Outstanding Researcher of the Year
University of Nevada, Reno offers new neuroscience program

Diane Barone ’89Ed.D.
Distinguished Outreach Faculty
Barone wins IRA Public School Service Award
Education professor appointed to national literacy board by President Bush

Gary Blomquist, biochemistry and molecular biology: Entomological Society of America’s Recognition Award in Insect Physiology, Biochemistry and Toxicology.

Christine Cheney, College of Education: 2011 Distinguished Alumna, Indiana University School of Education.
College of Education at Nevada, Reno uses tough times to build quality

Amy Childress, civil and environmental engineering: 2011 Technology Educator of the Year, Nevada’s Center for Entrepreneurship and Technology; Nevada Women’s Fund Salute to Women of Achievement honoree.
New methods hold hope for terminus lake water quality worldwide

Rod Davis, Cooperative Extension: MetLife Citizen Development Award; Bureau of Land Management Community Outreach and Security Award.
Nevada Bighorns Unlimited backs Bootstraps program

Greta De Jong, history: Mousel-Feltner Award for Excellence in Research and/or Creative Activity.
University celebrates Black History Month

Joseph DeLappe, art: College of Liberal Arts Award for Outstanding Research and Artistry.
Professor invited to prestigious international art exhibition

Sue Donaldson, Cooperative Extension: Joint Council of Extension Professionals Award of Appreciation.
Weeds specialist battles infestations and fosters consensus

Staci Emm and Loretta Singletary, Cooperative Extension: National Bound Book First Place Award, National Association of County Agriculture Agents; National Bound Book Gold Award, Association of Natural Resources Extension Professionals, for “People of the Land” curriculum.

Cahit Evrensel, mechanical engineering: Fellow of American Society of Mechanical Engineers.

Echezona Ezeanolue, pediatrics: American Academy of Pediatrics’ Council on Community Pediatrics Local Heroes Award; Robert Wood Johnson Foundation health policy fellow.
School of Medicine program helps moms with HIV deliver healthy babies

Catherine "Kay" Fowler, anthropology emerita: 2011 Fellow to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; 2011 Fellow to the National Academy of Sciences.

Patrick Ghezzi, psychology: College of Liberal Arts Special Award for Outreach.

Peter Goin, art, and Paul Starrs, geography: Association of American Geographers’ John Brinckerhoff Jackson Prize for A Field Guide to California Agriculture.

John Gosche, surgery: Nevada Business magazine’s 2010 Southern Nevada Healthcare Hero Award.

Robert “Jake” Highton, journalism: Reynolds School of Journalism Nevada Semenza Teaching Award.
Highton awarded emeritus status

Jennifer Hollander, biology: College of Science LeMay Excellence in Teaching Award.

Fred Holman, Extended Studies: appointed to executive boards for the international University and Professional Continuing Education Association and the national Education Advisory Board.

Thomas J. Hunt, family and community medicine: Elected president of the Nevada chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians.

Cornelis Kreemer, Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology: American Geophysical Union’s Geodesy Section Award for 2010; Mackay Researcher of the Year.

Daphne Lapointe, Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology: Mackay Award for Excellence.

Andrea Lenz, music: Governor’s Art Award for Excellence in the Arts.

Amy Meier, Cooperative Extension, MetLife Foundation Award of Excellence for “Bootstraps” program.

Robert Morris, Cooperative Extension: International Volunteer Award, awarded by President Obama for volunteer work in Tajikistan.

John Muntean, Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology: Mousel-Feltner Award in Research.

Tom Nickles, philosophy: American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow.

Michele Pelter, Orvis School of Nursing, and Alina Solovyova-Vincent, Teaching and Learning Technologies: Third year in a row: Blackboard Exemplary Course Award, in an international competition, for their online course. Solovyova-Vincent also won the 2011 Blackboard Catalyst Award for Excellence in Online Professional Development.

Jonathan Price, Nevada Bureau of Mines and Geology: Geological Society of America 2010 Public Service Award; Mining and Metallurgical Society of America President’s Citation.

Yvonne Stedham, managerial sciences: College of Business Graduate Faculty —Excellence in Teaching Award.

Ole Thienhaus, psychiatry: Nevada Business magazine’s 2010 Northern Nevada Healthcare Hero in the educator category.

Deborah Verstegen, educational leadership: National Education Finance Conference Distinguished Fellow.

Wei Yan, physiology and cell biology: membership in the National Institutes of Health’s Cellular, Molecular and Integrative Reproduction Study Section of the Center for Scientific Review.

Past Issues

View All Issues