Distinguished Outreach Faculty Award

In recognition of the importance of faculty outreach, the Distinguished Outreach Faculty Award program began in 2004. The award was developed to recognize and salute the university's faculty for outstanding outreach activities. Academic and administrative faculty on a half-time or greater appointment with the University of Nevada, Reno are eligible. Nominees for the award are solicited from deans in August of each year. Applications are judged by a selection committee on the overall impact of their work, the sustained nature of their contributions, and the collaboration fostered by their activities.  The recipient will receive a $5,000 award, a plaque, and recognition at the annual Honor the Best Ceremony in May. Funding is provided by the UNR Foundation and the Office of the Provost.

Previous Distinguished Outreach Faculty Award Winners:

  • Bret Simmons, Managerial Sciences (2017)
  • James Kent McAdoo, Northern Area, Cooperative Extension (2016)
  • Marjorie Matocq, Natural Resources & Environmental Science (2015)
  • Larry Engstrom, School of the Arts (2014)
  • Erica Ryst, Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences (2013)
  • W. Larry Williams, Psychology (2012)
  • Diane Barone, Education (2011)
  • Mary Ann Demchak, Education (2010)
  • Edwin G. Smith, Western Area, Cooperative Extension (2009)
  • Vern Luft, Education (2008)
  • Susan G. Donaldson, Western Area, Cooperative Extension (2007)
  • William Evans, Education (2006)
  • David Bennum, Physics (2005)
  • Marilyn Smith, Central/Northeast Area, Cooperative Extension (2004)