University of Nevada, Reno presidential search

University President Search

The NSHE Board of Regents is conducting a national search for a new president for the University of Nevada, Reno following President Marc A. Johnson's announcement that he will return to the faculty of University’s College of Business in July 2020.

University of Nevada, Reno campus
This 2018 view of the University of Nevada, Reno campus from the north shows the Joe Crowley Student Union, the Mathewson-IGT Knowledge Center, the William J. Raggio Education Building, the Nazir Anasari Business Building, the Fitzgerald Student Services Building, and the E.L. Wiegand Fitness Center.
Credit: Jeff Dow

About the search

In November 2019, Board of Regents Chair Jason Geddes, Vice-Chair Mark Doubrava and Chancellor Thom Reilly visited with the University of Nevada, Reno community to gather input on the top priorities and the desired background, experience and skills for the University’s next president. This information will be used to develop a leadership profile for the position, assist in recruiting candidates and establish the criteria for the Board to select the University’s next president.

The first meeting of the Board of Regents and its ad hoc University of Nevada, Reno President Search Committee is Friday, January 31 at 10 a.m. in the Milt Glick Ballroom A of the Joe Crowley Student Union. The meeting is open to the public.

At its January 31, 2020 meeting, the Board of Regents President Search Committee will discuss the search process, search procedures and a proposed timeline for the search. The president leadership statement and related materials will also be reviewed.

View NSHE agenda

Based on preliminary discussions, in early February 2020, the search firm will begin seeking out qualified candidates to apply, and that process will continue through March 2020. In early April 2020, Chancellor Riley will identify semi-finalists for the position. Chancellor Riley will interview the semi-finalists and select a slate of final candidates. These finalists will be invited to visit the University of Nevada, Reno near the end of April 2020. The Search Committee will meet with the candidates on campus in a meeting open to the public, and make their recommendation to the full Board of Regents at the end of April or first part of May.

We anticipate that the new president will start work on July 1, 2020.

Nominations and applications

The executive search firm WittKieffer has been hired to assist in the search process. Interested candidates should supply materials to WittKieffer by March 23, 2020. Applications should include a letter of interest addressing the themes in the leadership profile and a CV or resume. Nominations, confidential inquiries and application materials should be directed to the WittKieffer search consultants Zachary A. Smith, Ph.D., Suzanne Teer and Kim Brettschneider at

President Leadership Profile

The president will report directly to the chancellor of the Nevada System of Higher Education and will be responsible for leading the University of Nevada, Reno campus. Several opportunities await the next president as they aggressively promote the highest quality in academics, research, student life, alumni relations and service to the community and the state.

University of Nevada, Reno President’s Search Committee

Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents

Mr. Rick Trachok, Chair
Mrs. Carol Del Carlo
Mr. Sam Lieberman
Mrs. Cathy McAdoo
Mr. Kevin J. Page
Ms. Laura E. Perkins

  • Institutional Advisory Members
    • Dr. Kristen Clements-Nolle, Faculty Senate Representative
    • Ms. Maria Doucettperry, Director Equal Opportunity and Title IX Office (Ex-officio)
    • Dr. Melanie Duckworth, Administrator
    • Dr. Dana Edberg, Faculty Senate Representative
    • Ms. Tamara Guinn, GSA President
    • Dr. Mae Gustin, Faculty Senate Representative
    • Ms. Savannah Hughes, ASUN Speaker of the Senate
    • Mr. Vincent M. Keller, Staff Employee Council Chair
    • Dr. Albert Lee, Faculty Senate Representative
    • Mr. Anthony Martinez, ASUN President
    • Mr. Joe Nannini, Alumni Association President
    • Dr. Melissa Piasecki, Administrator
    • Mr. Chuck Price, Faculty Senate Representative
    • Mr. Vic Redding, Administrator
    • Mr. Alfredo Alonso, Community Member
    • Ms. Carolyn Barbash, Community Member
    • Dr. Dana Bennett, Community Member
    • Mr. Paul Bible, Community Member
    • Mr. Joe Bradley, Community Member
    • Mr. Randy Brown, Community Member
    • Mr. Mick Hitchcock, Community Member/University of Nevada, Reno Foundation Chair Elect
    • Dr. Marsha Read, Community Member
    • Mr. Rick Reviglio, Community Member
    • Ms. Ann Silver, Community Member
    • Ms. Dagny Stapleton, Community Member
    • Dr. Angie Taylor, Community Member