About Disabilities Access
Which disabled parking spaces can I use?
If you have any questions or concerns regarding this policy please contact Parking and Transportation Services at (775) 784-4654.
Once a university disabled, temporary disabled or daily parking permit is purchased, it allows the permit owner to park in any disabled space on campus. If you wish to use a disabled space located in a gated area, you may pay a refundable deposit and obtain a transponder from the Parking and Transportation Services Department. Although only one disabled accessible permit is issued, it is valid in any vehicle registered with the Parking and Transportation Services Department. In order to use a disabled parking space, the vehicle must properly display a UNR disabled permit or daily permit along with the DMV issued disabled placard or plates. The registered owner of the UNR disabled permit and DMV issued disabled placard or plates must also be present.
Vehicles displaying the State of Nevada Disabled Veteran License Plates shown in the image below are exempt from parking fees and may use any of the disabled parking spaces available on campus. Per the State of Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles, eligibility for Disabled Veteran and Disabled Female Veteran plates are for those with 100% connected disability. These license plates allow the plate holder to use disabled parking and exempts the vehicle from Nevada State and local parking fees.
What if I can't find an available disabled parking space?
It is imperative that disabled individuals park in disabled parking spaces. If all disabled spaces are full, you may park in a regular space. We request that you contact the Parking and Transportation Services Department when this occurs so that we can determine the demand for disabled parking spaces within a given area. Please familiarize yourself with the various disabled spaces on campus.
What are the applicable time frames?
Campus disabled permits or daily permits are required in the disabled parking areas from 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Monday through Thursday and from 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Fridays. At all other times, including weekends, DMV placards or plates must be displayed in order to use the disabled parking areas.
Disabled parking enforcement.
Vehicles may not park in spaces designated as disabled unless they are eligible and displaying a university disabled parking permit or daily permit alongside the appropriate DMV placard. Vehicles parked in a disabled parking space but not displaying the approved disabled placards or permits will receive a $250 fine.
The first time a disabled patron is found parked on campus using only the Department of Motor Vehicle license plate or placard, they will receive a warning. In addition, they will receive an informational flyer explaining the University of Nevada, Reno disabled parking policy. After one warning, a "No Parking Permit" citation will be issued.
If a disabled placard or disabled parking permit is used by anyone other than the registered owner of the placard, a citation in excess of $250 will be issued.
If you have any questions or concerns regarding this policy, please contact Parking and Transportation Services at (775) 784-4654.