Reynolds School of Journalism makes a mark at Nevada Press Association Awards

Faculty and alumni recognized during 2017 ceremony

Reynolds School of Journalism Professor and students pose for a photo at the 2017 Nevada Press Association Awards.

10/11/2017 | By: Alexa Solis |

The University of Nevada, Reno's Reynolds School of Journalism made its mark at the 2017 Nevada Press Association Award Ceremony on Sept. 30. Reynold's School Professor Patrick File and Nevada state Sen. Nicole Cannizzaro received the First Amendment Champions Award for his work in passing SB420, a bill that opens the doors for Nevada student journalists to write freely about controversial issues without fear of being censored by school administrators.

The Reynolds School's accolades didn't stop there. Myram Borders, a distinguished Reynolds School alumni, and A.L. Higginbotham, widely regarded as the founder of the journalism program at the University, were inducted into the Nevada Press Association Hall of Fame.

Myram Borders graduated from the Reynolds School in 1958, and soon began an impactful career in journalism reporting on Nevada gaming, politics, organized crime, race riots, nuclear testing and society. Borders career as a journalist spanned 36 years, and she spent 25 of those years as the Las Vegas Bureau Manager for United Press International. During that time she traveled through Europe, Asia, Africa, Antarctica, Australia, South America and North America. She retired in 2002 and lives in Las Vegas.

A.L. Higginbotham, nicknamed "Higgy" by his students and those that knew him, taught journalism at the University for 43 years and is considered to be the founder of not only the University's journalism program, but the Nevada Press Association as well. Many of Higginbotham's students went on to be inducted into the NPA's Hall of Fame themselves, among them Bryn Armstrong, Paul Leonard, John Sanford, Chris Sheerin and Warren Lerude.

For more information about the Nevada Press Association, visit


For more news on the University of Nevada, Reno, follow @unevadareno on Twitter.

Get Nevada Today in your Inbox!