Music Faculty

faculty members sitting in theater

Department Chair

Peter Epstein

Peter Epstein, M.M.
Chair; Associate Professor, Saxophone, Jazz & Improvisational Music
(775) 784-4061
Office: CFA 133A

Faculty and Staff Directory

Robert J. Callaghan
Keyboard Technician, Piano Tuner
(775) 287-2140
robert@harmonicity.com

Peter Epstein
Chair, Department of Music
(775) 784-4061
Office: CFA 133A
pepstein@unr.edu

Pat Gardner
Piano Accompanist; Librarian, Choral Activities
(775) 784-6145
Office: CFA 133
pat4music@yahoo.com

Mary Miller
Lecturer, Flute; Scholarship and Recruiting Coordinator
(775) 682-9026
Office: VSG 100B
mvmiller@unr.edu

Christopher Money
Clarinet; Assistant Director of Programming and Marketing for the School of the Arts
(775) 784-3593
cmoney@unr.edu

Rich Norris
Technical Director, Nightingale Concert Hall
(775) 784-6964
rnorris@unr.edu

Danne Polk
Website Technician, Event Publicity
(775) 348-8784
dannep@unr.edu

Cynthia Prescott
Administrative Assistant
(775) 682-9028
Office: VSG 100D
cprescott@unr.edu

Rich Norris
Technical Director, Nightingale Concert Hall
(775) 784-6964
rnorris@unr.edu

Robert J. Callaghan
Keyboard Technician, Piano Tuner
(775) 287-2140
robert@harmonicity.com

Danne Polk
Website Technician, Event Publicity
(775) 348-8784
dannep@unr.edu

Pat Gardner
Piano Accompanist; Librarian, Choral Activities
(775) 784-6145
Office: CFA 133
pat4music@yahoo.com

Isadora Pastragus-Wilson
Piano Accompanist, Vocal/Instrumental Coach
(775) 784-6862
Office: CFA 124
isadora_pastragus@hotmail.com

Reed Chamberlin
Assistant Professor, Director of Bands; Conductor, Nevada Wind Ensemble; Conductor, University Campus Band; Conducting
(775) 682-9036
Office: VSG 101C
rchamberlin@unr.edu

Stephen C. Eubanks
Assistant Director of Athletic Bands; Music Education Lecturer
(775) 784-6525
Office: VSG 101D
seubanks@unr.edu

Dennis Hawkins
Interim Director of Athletic Bands
(775) 784-6807
Office: CFA 133
dhawkins@unr.edu

Ralph Alessi
Assistant Professor, Jazz Trumpet, Small Groups, University jazz Ensemble #1
(775) 682-9039
Office: CFA 129
ralessi@unr.edu

DeAunn Davis
Assistant Professor, Horn; Brass Quintet Coach
(775) 682-9033
Office: CFA 127
deaunn@gmail.com

Larry M. Engstrom
Professor, Trumpet
775-682-8803
Office: MSS 107
engstrom@unr.edu

Paul Lenz
Trumpet
(775) 682-8971
Office: CFA 124
pqltrumpet@gmail.com

Steve Perdicaris
Trombone
Office: VSG 100
sperdicaris@unr.edu

Adam Snider
Tuba, Euphonium; Director, Nevada Tuba Day; Director, Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble; Director, Contemporary Music Ensemble
(775) 784-6145 msg
Office: CFA 127
snidertuba@gmail.com

James Flora
Voice, Opera
(775) 784-4065
Office: CFA 125
jflora@unr.edu

Olga Perez Flora
Voice
(775) 784-6862
Office: CFA 140
operezflora@unr.edu

Pat Gardner
Piano Accompanist; Librarian, Choral Activities
(775) 784-6145
Office: CFA 133
pat4music@yahoo.com

Albert Rudolph Lee
Voice; Director, Nevada Chamber Opera
(775) 784-6145
Office: CFA 137
albertrlee@unr.edu

Helen Lee
Voice
(775) 682-8961
Office: CFA 136
hlee@unr.edu

Isadora Pastragus-Wilson
Piano Accompanist, Vocal/Instrumental Coach
(775) 784-6862
Office: CFA 124
isadora_pastragus@hotmail.com

Suzette Thoeni
Voice Instructor
(775) 229-3609
Office: CFA 136
stewart.thoeni@att.net

Paul Torkelson
Assistant Professor, Voice, Singing, Choral Arts, Choral; Conducting; Director, Choral Studies; Director, Symphonic Chorus; Director, Nevada Chamber Singers
(775) 682-9023
Office: VSG 30D
ptorkelson@unr.edu

Ralph Alessi
Assistant Professor, Jazz Trumpet, Small Groups, University jazz Ensemble #1
(775) 682-9039
Office: CFA 129
ralessi@unr.edu

Ed Corey
Lecturer, Music Theory, Music Appreciation, Composition and Theory; Director, University Guitar Ensemble
(775) 682-9088
Office: VSG 30B
coreyh@unr.edu

Hans Halt
Lecturer: String Bass, Jazz Piano; Jazz Composition
(775) 682-9032
Office: CFA 135
hhalt@unr.edu

Andrew Heglund
Associate Professor, Music Theory, Percussion; Director, University Percussion Ensemble; Director, Day of Percussion
(775) 682-9025
Office: CFA 13A
aheglund@unr.edu

Jean-Paul Perrotte
Assistant Professor, Coordinator, Music Theory, Electronic Composition
(775) 784-4030
Office: MSS 104
jperrotte@unr.edu

James Winn
Professor, Composition Studies, Keyboard Studies, Piano, Harpsichord; Director, Keyboard Studies; Coordinator, Composition Studies
(775) 784-4051
Office: CFA 138
jamesw@unr.edu

Ralph Alessi
Assistant Professor, Jazz Trumpet, Small Groups, University jazz Ensemble #1
(775) 682-9039
Office: CFA 129
ralessi@unr.edu

Jason Altieri
Director and Conductor, University Symphony Orchestra
(775) 682-9017
Office: VSG 30C
jaltieri@unr.edu

Dmitri Atapine
Associate Professor, Cello; Artistic Director, Apex Concerts
(775) 682-9034
Office: CFA 126
datapine@unr.edu

Adam Benjamin
Assistant Professor, Jazz Piano; Director, Jazz and Improvisational Music
(775) 682-9039
Office: CFA 135
adam@adambenjamin.net

Reed Chamberlin
Assistant Professor, Director of Bands; Conductor, Nevada Wind Ensemble; Conductor, University Campus Band; Conducting
(775) 682-9036
Office: VSG 101C
rchamberlin@unr.edu

Ed Corey
Lecturer, Music Theory, Music Appreciation, Composition and Theory; Director, University Guitar Ensemble
(775) 682-9088
Office: VSG 30B
coreyh@unr.edu

Larry M. Engstrom
Professor, Trumpet
(775) 682-8803
Office: MSS 107
engstrom@unr.edu

Peter Epstein
Chair, Department of Music; Associate Professor, Saxophone, Jazz and Improvisational Music
(775) 784-4061
Office: CFA 133A
pepstein@unr.edu

Stephen C. Eubanks
Assistant Director of Athletic Bands; Lecturer, Music Education
(775) 784-6525
Office: VSG 101D
seubanks@unr.edu

Dennis Hawkins
Interim Director of Athletic Bands
(775) 784-6807
Office: VSG 100B
dhawkins@unr.edu

Andrew Heglund
Associate Professor, Music Theory, Percussion; Director, University Percussion Ensemble; Director, Day of Percussion
(775) 682-9025
Office: CFA 13A
aheglund@unr.edu

Albert Rudolph Lee
Voice; Director, Nevada Chamber Opera
(775) 784-6145
Office: CFA 137
albertrlee@unr.edu

Mary Miller
Lecturer, Flute; Scholarship and Recruiting Coordinator
(775) 682-9026
Office: VSG 100B
mvmiller@unr.edu

Louis Niebur
Associate Professor, Musicology; Director, Music History/Musicology
(775) 784-4061
Office: MSS 105
lniebur@unr.edu

Rich Norris
Technical Director, Nightingale Concert Hall
(775) 784-6964
rnorris@unr.edu

Marina Roznitovsky Oster
Harp; Director, Harp Plus
(775) 682-8971
Office: CFA 109
marinaharp@gmail.com

Adela Hyeyeon Park
Assistant Professor, Piano; Artistic Director, Apex Concerts
(775) 682-9030
Office: CFA 132
hyeyeonp@unr.edu

Jean-Paul Perrotte
Assistant Professor, Coordinator, Music Theory, Electronic Composition
(775) 784-4030
Office: MSS 104
jperrotte@unr.edu

Stephanie Sant'Ambrogio
Associate Professor of Violin & Viola; Director, Orchestral Career Studies Graduate Program; Director, L-Cubed Music Series
(775) 682-9024
Office: CFA 139
ssantambrogio@unr.edu

Adam Snider
Tuba, Euphonium; Director, Nevada Tuba Day; Director, Tuba-Euphonium Ensemble; Director, Contemporary Music Ensemble
(755) 784-6145 msg
Office: CFA 127
snidertuba@gmail.com

Paul Torkelson
Assistant Professor, Voice, Singing, Choral Arts, Choral Conducting; Director, Choral Studies; Director, Symphonic Chorus; Director, Nevada Chamber Singers
(775) 682-9023
Office: VSG 30D
ptorkelson@unr.edu

James Winn
Professor, Composition Studies, Keyboard Studies, Piano, Harpsichord; Director, Keyboard Studies; Coordinator, Composition Studies
(775) 784-4051
Office: CFA 138
jamesw@unr.edu

Jose Flores
Saxophone
(775) 784-6145 msg
Office: CFA 133
jflores@washoe.k12.nv.us

Joey Berger
Guitar
(775) 784-6145
Office: VSG 30B
joeyb@unr.edu

Ed Corey
Lecturer, Music Theory, Music Appreciation, Composition and Theory; Director, University Guitar Ensemble
(775) 682-9088
Office: VSG 30B
coreyh@unr.edu

Ralph Alessi
Assistant Professor, Jazz Trumpet, Small Groups, University jazz Ensemble #1
(775) 682-9039
Office: CFA 129
ralessi@unr.edu

Adam Benjamin
Assistant Professor, Jazz Piano; Director, Jazz and Improvisational Music
(775) 682-9039
Office: CFA 135
adam@adambenjamin.net

Joey Berger
Guitar
(775) 784-6145 msg
Office: VSG 30B
joeyb@unr.edu

Ed Corey
Lecturer, Music Theory, Music Appreciation, Composition and Theory; Director, University Guitar Ensemble
(775) 682-9088
Office: VSG 30B
coreyh@unr.edu

Larry M. Engstrom
Professor, Trumpet
(775) 682-8803
Office: MSS 107
engstrom@unr.edu

Peter Epstein
Chair, Department of Music
Associate Professor, Saxophone, Jazz and Improvisational Music
(775) 784-4061
Office: CFA 133A
pepstein@unr.edu

Hans Halt
Lecturer: String Bass, Jazz Piano, Jazz Composition
(775) 682-9032
Office: CFA 135
hhalt@unr.edu

Andrew Heglund
Associate Professor, Music Theory, Percussion; Director, University Percussion Ensemble; Director, Day of Percussion
(775) 682-9025
Office: CFA 13A
aheglund@unr.edu

Adam Benjamin
Assistant Professor, Jazz Piano; Director, Jazz and Improvisational Music
(775) 682-9039
Office: CFA 135
adam@adambenjamin.net

Hans Halt
Lecturer: String Bass, Jazz Piano; Jazz Composition
(775) 682-9032
Office: CFA 135
hhalt@unr.edu

Philip Manwell
Organ
(775) 682-9066
Office: VSG 30E
manwellphilip@gmail.com

Adela Hyeyeon Park
Assistant Professor, Piano; Artistic Director, Apex Concerts
(775) 682-9030
Office: CFA 132
hyeyeonp@unr.edu

Isadora Pastragus-Wilson
Piano Accompanist, Vocal/Instrumental Coach
(775) 784-6862
Office: CFA 124
isadora_pastragus@hotmail.com

James Winn
Professor, Composition Studies, Keyboard Studies, Piano, Harpsichord; Director, Keyboard Studies; Coordinator, Composition Studies
(775) 784-4051
Office: CFA 138
jamesw@unr.edu

Valerio Morucci
Music Appreciation, Musicology
(775) 784-6145
Office: VSG 30A
vmorucci@unr.edu

Stephen C. Eubanks
Assistant Director of Athletic Bands; Music Education Lecturer
(775) 784-6525
Office: VSG 101D
seubanks@unr.edu

Kate Pollard
Lecturer and Coordinator, Music Education
(775) 682-9019
Office: CFA 109A
catherinep@unr.edu

Julianne Lindberg
Assistant Professor, Musicology, Music History
(775) 682-9018
Office: MSS 106
jlindberg@unr.edu

Ruthie Meadows
Assistant Professor, Ethnomusicology
(775) 784-6145
Office: MSS 103
ruthiemeadows@gmail.com

Valerio Morucci
Music Appreciation, Musicology
(775) 784-6145
Office: VSG 30A
vmorucci@unr.edu

Louis Niebur
Associate Professor, Musicology; Director, Music History/Musicology
(775) 784-4061
Office: MSS 105
lniebur@unr.edu

Jason Altieri
Director and Conductor, University Symphony Orchestra
(775) 682-9017
Office: VSG 30C
jaltieri@unr.edu

Andrew Heglund
Associate Professor, Music Theory, Percussion; Director, University Percussion Ensemble; Director, Day of Percussion
(775) 682-9025
Office: CFA 13A
aheglund@unr.edu

Cody Remaklus
World Music, Feldenkrais
(775) 329-6000
Office: CFA 13
congacody@gmail.com

Tom Gordon
Music Recording Studies
(775) 682-9031
Office: CFA 111
tom@inspired-amateur.com

Dmitri Atapine
Associate Professor, Cello; Artistic Director, Apex Concerts
(775) 682-9034
Office: CFA 126
datapine@unr.edu

Hans Halt
Lecturer: String Bass, Jazz Piano, Jazz Composition
(775) 682-9032
Office: CFA 135
hhalt@unr.edu

Marina Roznitovsky Oster
Harp; Director, Harp Plus
(775) 682-8971
Office: CFA 109
marinaharp@gmail.com

Stephanie Sant' Ambrogio
Associate Professor of Violin & Viola; Director, Orchestral Career Studies Graduate Program;Director, L-Cubed Music Series
(775) 682-9024
Office: CFA 139
ssantambrogio@unr.edu

Peter Epstein
Chair, Department of Music; Associate Professor, Saxophone, Jazz and Improvisational Music
(775) 784-4061
Office: CFA 133A
pepstein@unr.edu

Eric Fassbender
Bassoon and Oboe
(775) 682-9020
Office: VSG 101A
efassbender@unr.edu

Mary Miller
Lecturer, Flute; Scholarship and Recruiting Coordinator
(775) 682-9026
Office: VSG 100B
mvmiller@unr.edu

Christopher Money
Clarinet
(775) 784-3593
cmoney@unr.edu