Faculty Ensembles

The School of the Arts and the music department host several faculty ensembles. Performances take place many times throughout the year, including summer concerts, most often at Nightingale Concert Hall, located in the Church Fine Arts Building. The concerts are beloved by the Reno arts community, bringing a sense of pride to the department and to the University.

Argenta Trio

The Argenta Trio is a renowned faculty ensemble featuring Stephanie Sant'Ambrogio (Violin), Dmitri Atapine (Cello) and Jim Winn (Piano).

Stephanie Sant'Ambrogio is assistant professor of violin and viola and director of the orchestral career studies graduate program at the University of Nevada, Reno.

James Winn, piano and composition professor at the University of Nevada, Reno, made his professional debut with the Denver Symphony at the age of 13 and has been performing widely in North America, Europe and Japan ever since.

Cellist Dmitri Atapine, the First Prize winner at the 2004 Carlos Prieto International Cello Competition (Mexico), is recognized as an exciting performer and an accomplished chamber musician.

Ed Corey Trio

The Ed Corey Trio lineup consists of Ed Corey on guitar, Hans Halt on String Bass and Andrew Heglund on percussion.

The Collective

The Collective, one of the most creative and distinctive jazz ensembles in the northwestern United States, features pianist Adam Benjamin, bassist Hans Halt, drummer Andrew Heglund, and saxophonist Peter Epstein.