David Anthony Durham, M.F.A.

Assistant Professor
David Durham

Contact Information


  • M.F.A., Creative Writing (Fiction), University of Maryland, College Park, 1996
  • B.A., English, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 1992


David Anthony Durham is the author of seven novels: The RisenThe Sacred BandThe Other LandsAcacia (John W. Campbell Award Winner, Finalist for the Prix Imaginales), Pride of Carthage (Finalist for the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award), Walk Through Darkness (New York Times Notable Book), and Gabriel's Story (NY Times Notable Book, Hurston/Wright Legacy Award Winner). His stories have appeared in three of George R.R. Martin's Wild Cards novels: Fort FreakLowball and High Stakes, with another forthcoming in Texas Hold 'Em. Other short fiction has been anthologized in UnboundUnfetteredIt's All Love, and in Gumbo: A Celebration of African American Writing

He has taught at Clarion, the University of Maryland, the University of Massachusetts, the Colorado College, for the Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation, Cal State University Fresno, Hampshire College, and for the Stonecoast MFA Program of the University of Southern Maine.


Research Interests

  • Creative writing (fiction)
  • Contemporary literature
  • African-American literature
  • Genre Fiction: Crime, Fantasy, Historical, Horror, Science Fiction
  • Diversity in SFF


  • The Risen, Doubleday, 2016
  • Acacia: The Sacred Band, Doubleday, 2011
  • Acacia: The Other Lands, Doubleday, 2009. 
  • Acacia: The War With the Mein, Doubleday, 2007. 
  • Pride of Carthage, Doubleday, 2005. 
  • Walk Through Darkness, Doubleday, 2002
  • Gabriel's Story, Doubleday, 2001

Anthologized Short Fiction

  • "Heads or Tails," High Stakes, edited by George RR Martin, Tor, 2016.
  • "Those About to Die," Lowball, edited by George RR Martin, Tor, 2014.
  • "Snake Up Above/ Snake In the Hole/ Snake on Fire," Fort Freak, edited by George RR Martin, Tor, 2011. 
  • "All in a Night's Work," Unbound, edited by Shawn Speakman, Grim Oak Press, 2015.
  • "All the Girl's Love Michael Stein," Unfettered, edited by Shawn Speakman, Grim Oak Press, 2013.
  • "An Act of Faith," Intimacy: Erotic Stories of Love, Lust, and Marriage by Black Men, edited by Robert Fleming, Plume, 2004.
  • "The Boy-Fish," Gumbo: A Celebration of African American Writing, edited by Marita Golden and E. Lynn Harris, Harlem Moon Press, 2002.