David Anthony Durham, MFA

Assistant Professor
David Durham


David Anthony Durham is the author of eight novels: The Shadow Prince, The Risen, The Sacred Band, The Other Lands, Acacia (John W. Campbell Award Winner, Finalist for the Prix Imaginales), Pride of Carthage Finalist for the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award), Walk Through Darkness (New York Times Notable Book), and Gabriel's Story (NY Times Notable Book, Hurston/Wright Legacy Award Winner). His stories have appeared in four of George R.R. Martin's Wild Cards novels: Fort Freak, Lowball and High Stakes, Texas Hold 'Em, with another forthcoming in Pairing Up. Other short fiction has been anthologized in Unfettered III, Unbound, Unfettered, It's All Love, and in Gumbo: A Celebration of African American Writing.

He has taught at Clarion, the University of Maryland, the University of Massachusetts, the Colorado College, for the Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation, Cal State University Fresno, Hampshire College and for the Stonecoast MFA Program of the University of Southern Maine.

Research interests

  • Creative writing (fiction)
  • Screen writing
  • Contemporary literature
  • African-American literature
  • Genre fiction: crime, fantasy, historical, horror, science fiction
  • Diversity in SFF



  • The Shadow Prince, Tu Books, 2021
  • The Risen, Doubleday, 2016
  • Acacia: The Sacred Band, Doubleday, 2011
  • Acacia: The Other Lands, Doubleday, 2009
  • Acacia: The War With the Mein, Doubleday, 2007
  • Pride of Carthage, Doubleday, 2005
  • Walk Through Darkness, Doubleday, 2002
  • Gabriel's Story, Doubleday, 2001

Anthologized short fiction

  • “Kneeling Before Jupiter," a story published in the anthology, Unfettered III, edited by Shawn Speakman, Grim Oak Press, 2019.
  • "Drop City," a story published in Texas Hold ‘Em, edited by George RR Martin, Tor, 2018. Also published in the UK by Gollancz, and to be published in Australia by Voyager.
  • "Heads or Tails,"High Stakes, edited by George RR Martin, Tor, 2016.
  • "Those About to Die," Lowball, edited by George RR Martin, Tor, 2014.
  • "Snake Up Above/ Snake In the Hole/ Snake on Fire,"Fort Freak, edited by George RR Martin, Tor, 2011.
  • "All in a Night's Work," Unbound, edited by Shawn Speakman, Grim Oak Press, 2015.
  • "All the Girl's Love Michael Stein," Unfettered, edited by Shawn Speakman, Grim Oak Press, 2013.
  • "An Act of Faith," Intimacy: Erotic Stories of Love, Lust, and Marriage by Black Men, edited by Robert Fleming, Plume, 2004.
  • "The Boy-Fish," Gumbo: A Celebration of African American Writing, edited by Marita Golden and E. Lynn Harris, Harlem Moon Press, 2002.


  • MFA, Creative Writing (Fiction), University of Maryland, College Park, 1996
  • B.A., English, University of Maryland, Baltimore County, 1992