EECB Students



Alison Agneray - Ph.D Student

Alison Agneray

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
aagneray@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Beth Leger
Research Areas: restoration ecology, population ecology, native and invasive Great Basin plants


Tessa Behnke - Ph.D Student

Tessa Behnke

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
tbehnke@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Jim Sedinger
Research Areas: population ecology, Threatened and Endangered species conservation


Lauren Benedict - Ph.D Student

Lauren Benedict

Biology - Ph.D Student
lbenedict@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Vladimir Pravosudov
Research Areas: behavioral ecology, avian cognition


Marcus Blum - Ph.D Student

Marcus Blum

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
mblum@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Kelley Stewart
Research Areas: resource selection, large mammal population dynamics, behavioral ecology


Israel Borokini - Ph.D Student

Israel Borokini

Biology
tborokini@unr.edu
Adviser: Mary Peacock
Website: Borokini - Google Scholar
Research Areas: plant population genetics, ecological niche modeling, conservation biology


Tim Caldwell - Ph.D Student

Tim Caldwell

Biology 
timothycaldwell@unr.edu
Adviser: Sudeep Chandra
Research Areas: aquatic ecology, fisheries, climate change ecology, ecosystem ecology


Anson Call - Ph.D Student

Anson Call

Biology
anson.clark.call@gmail.com
Adviser: Elizabeth Pringle
Research Areas: mutualisms, plant-herbivore interactions, alfalfa


Kristin L. Charles

Tim Caldwell

Biology
kcharles6@gmail.com
Adviser: Jamie Voyles
Research Areas: disease ecology and evolution of herpetofauna, conservation genetics, immunology, phylogeography


Stephanie Coronado - Ph.D Student

Stephanie Coronado

Biology
steph.m.coronado@gmail.com
Adviser: Elizabeth Pringle
Research Areas: community ecology, mutualisms, plant-animal interactions


Miranda M. Crowell - Ph.D Student

Miranda Crowell

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
mcrowell@unr.edu
Advisers: Marjorie Matocq, Kevin Shoemaker
Website: Miranda's Site
Research Areas: behavioral ecology, population ecology, population genetics, chemical ecology


Aramee Diethelm - Ph.D Student

Aramee Diethelm

Biology
dieatthehelm@gmail.com
Advisers: Beth Pringle, Matthew Forister, Lee Dyer
Website: Aramee's Site
Research Areas: plant-insect interactions, species conservation, urban ecology, chemical ecology


Anne Espeset - Ph.D Student

Anne Espeset

Biology
aespeset@unr.edu
Adviser: Matt Forister
Website: Anne's Site
Research Area: effects of anthropogenic changes on ecology and evolution


Trevor Faske - Ph.D Student

Trevor Faske

Biology
tfaske@unr.edu
Adviser: Thomas Parchman
Website: Trevor's Site
Research Area: Population Genomics, Local Adaptation, Genetic Architecture, Great Basin Restoration Genetics


Jake Francis - Ph.D Student

Jake Francis

Biology
jacob.franci@gmail.com
Adviser: Anne Leonard
Website: Jacob's Site
Research Area: pollination, nutritional and behavioral ecology


Jared Fuller - Ph.D Student

Jared Fuller

Biology
jfuller@unr.edu
Advisers: Mary Peacock
Research Area: conservation genetics and landscape genetics with a focus on desert endemic fishes


Lanie Galland - Ph.D Student

Lanie Galland

Biology
lgalland@unr.edu
Advisers: Thomas Parchman, Mary Peacock
Website: Lanie's Site
Research Area: comparative evolution, genetic architecture of adaptive traits, hybridization and introgression, conservation genomics, and genome divergence


Joshua M. Hallas - Ph.D Student

Joshua Hallas

Biology
jhallas@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Thomas Parchman
Website: Josh's Site
Research Areas: systematics, population genomics, phylogenetics, marine speciation, biogeography


Christopher Halsch - Ph.D Student

Christopher Halsch

Biology
cahalsch@gmail.com
Adviser: Matt Forister
Research Areas: butterfly phenology, conservation biology, global change


Lacey Hankin - Ph.D Student

Lacey Hankin

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
lacey.hankin@gmail.com
Adviser: Sarah Bisbing
Research Areas: climate and fire effects in Great Basin conifers


Jennifer Heppner - Ph.D Student

Jennifer Heppner

Biology
jheppner@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Jenny Ouyang
Research Areas: Phenotypic plasticity, urban ecology, stress physiology, maternal effects, and studying how organisms cope with changing environments.


Steve Hromada - Ph.D Student

Steve Hromada

Geography
stevehromada@gmail.com
Adviser: Ken Nussear
Website: Steve's site
Research Areas: spatial ecology, connectivity, conservation biology, community ecology, herpetology


Levi Jaster - Ph.D Student

Levi Jaster

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
ljaster@cabnr.unr.edu 
Adviser: Jim Sedinger
Research Area: avian population ecology


Ericka Kay - Ph.D Student

Ericka Kay

Biology
ekay@nevada.unr.edu
Advisers: Lee Dyer & Matt Forister
Website: Ericka's site
Research Areas: Hemp-insect interactions, chemical ecology, tritrophic interactions


Francisco Lariz - Ph.D Student

Francisco Lariz

Biology
flariz@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Lora Richards
Research Areas: chemical ecology, plant-insect interactions, phytochemistry


Will Lumpkin - Ph.D Student

Will Lumpkin

Biology
spencerwpl@hotmail.com
Adviser: Lee Dyer
Research Area: aquatic mosquito community ecology and habitat complexity effects on diversity


Danielle C. Miles - Ph.D Student

Sabrina Morano

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
daniellecmiles@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Kevin Shoemaker
Website: Danielle's website
Research Areas: herpetology, bats, human-nature interactions, climate change, conservation


Haley Moniz - M.S. Student

Haley Moniz

Biology
haleymoniz@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Chris Feldman
Research Areas: physiology, organismal performance, herpetology


Nadya Muchoney - Ph.D Student

Sabrina Morano

Biology
nmuchoney@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Angela Smilanich
Research Areas: plant-herbivore interactions, chemical ecology, evolution of diet preference in Lepidopterans, ecoimmunology


Zachary Nelson - Ph.D Student

Zachary Nelson

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
znelson@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Peter Weisberg
Website: Great Basin Landscape Ecology Lab
Research Areas: plant community ecology, fire and succession, spatial simulation modeling, avian behavior, habitat suitability modeling


Danny Nielsen - Ph.D Student

Danny Nielsen

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
dannynielsen@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Marjorie Matocq
Website: Danny's website
Research Areas: evolutionary ecology, hybridization, microbiome, dietary adaptations


Anjana Parandhaman - Ph.D Student

Anjana Parandhaman

Geography
anjana.parandhaman@gmail.com
Advisers: Jill Heaton, Ken Nussear
Research Areas: herpetology, conservation biology, spatial ecology, conservation genetics, landscape genomics


Adriana Parra - Ph.D Student

Adriana Parra

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
adrianaparra@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Jonathan Greenberg
Research Areas: landscape ecology, land cover change, ecosystem services


Devon Picklum - Ph.D Student

Devon Picklum

Biology
dapicklum@gmail.com
Adviser: Anne Leonard
Website: Devon's website
Research Areas: bee behavior and learning, plant-pollinator interactions, floral evolution


Angela Pitera - Ph.D Student

Angela Pitera

Biology
apitera@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Vladimir Pravosudov
Research Areas: avian behavior and cognition


Tessa Putz - Ph.D Student

Tessa Putz

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
tputz@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Sarah Bisbing
Research Areas: forest ecology, community functional traits, climate change


Jessica Reimche - Ph.D Student

Jessica Reimche

Biology
reimchej@gmail.com
Adviser: Chris Feldman
Website: Jessica's site
Research Areas: molecular evolution, genetics, transcriptomics, herpetology


Thomas Riecke - Ph.D Student

Thomas Riecke

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
triecke@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Jim Sedinger
Website: Thomas's site
Research Areas: avian ecology and demography


Danielle Salcido - Ph.D Student

Danielle Salcido

Biology
danisalcido@gmail.com
Adviser: Lee Dyer
Research Areas: plant insect interactions, tropical ecology, citizen science, latitudinal gradients


Gabriela Rios-Sotelo

Gabriela Rios-Sotelo

Biology
gabriela18@gmail.com
Adviser: Jamie Voyles
Research Areas: disease ecology, ecoimmunology, global health, herpetology


Ben Sonnenberg - Ph.D Student

Ben Sonnenberg

Biology
benjamin.r.sonnenberg@gmail.com
Adviser: Vladimir Pravosudov
Research Area: behavioral ecology, animal cognition, avian ecology


Phillip Street - Ph.D Student

Phillip Street

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
pstreet@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Jim Sedinger 
Research Area: population ecology


Chanchanok Sudta - Ph.D Student

Chanchanok Sudta

Biology
csudta@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Lee Dyer
Research Area: plant-insect interactions and tropical ecology


Anna Tatarko - Ph.D Student

Anna Tatarko

Biology
atatarko09@gmail.com
Adviser: Anne Leonard
Website: Anna's site
Research Areas: pollinator physiology, chemosensory systems


Charles Truettner - Ph.D Student

Charles Truettner

Geography
charles.truettner@gmail.com
Adviser: Franco Biondi
Research Area: dendroecology, ecological niche modeling, stable isotope geochemistry, ecohydrology, climate change


Kathryn Uckele - Ph.D Student

Kathryn Uckele

Biology
kuckele@unr.edu
Adviser: Thomas Parchman
Research Areas: chemical ecology, population genomics, plant-insect interactions


Margarete Walden - Ph.D Student

Chava Weitzman

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
mwalden@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Kevin Shoemaker
Research Areas:  population ecology, herpetology, conservation biology, terrestrial vertebrate physiology, species' responses to climate change


Su'ad Yoon - Ph.D Student

Su'ad Yoon

Biology
suady@nevada.unr.edu
Advisers: Matt Forister & Angela Smilanich
Website:  Su'ad's website
Research Areas: ecological immunology, invasion biology, evolutionary ecology


Maya Zawlodzki - Ph.D Student

no photo

Biology
mayamayaz@yahoo.com
Adviser: Jeanne Zeh & David Zeh