Faculty committees

  • Admissions Committee

    The EECB Admissions Committee evaluates all student applications to the EECB Program and recommends to the EECB Faculty those students found acceptable and sources of financial support they should receive from the EECB Graduate Program. The EECB Admissions Committee evaluates and advises the Program Director on all Graduate Faculty applications. When considering general admission policies, this committee shall consult with representatives of the EECB student association.

    A list of people serving on the Admissions Committee
    Member Chair Appointed Start date
    Tom Parchman Y Appointed 2018
    Angela Smilanich N Appointed 2018
    Beth Leger N Appointed 2018
  • Curriculum Committee

    The EECB Curriculum Committee evaluates and approves the graduate courses that are included in the EECB course listing and recommends to the faculty the structure of the EECB core curriculum.

    A list of people serving on the Curriculum Committee
    Member Chair Elected/Appointed Start date
    Marjorie Matocq Y Appointed 2018
    Annie Leonard N Elected 2018
    Tom Albright N Elected 2018
    Hall Cushman N Elected 2018
  • Diversity Committee
    • Marjorie Matocq (chair) Julie Allen
    • Elizabeth Leger
    • Marjorie Matocq
    • Joanna Blaszczak
    • Jamie Voyles
    • Chris Feldman

    Read the EECB diversity statement

  • Exam Committee
    A list of people serving on the Exam Committee
    Member Appointed Start date
    Vladimir Pravosudov Appointed 2018
    Ken Nussear Appointed 2018
    Kevin Shoemaker Appointed 2018
    Hall Cushman Appointed 2019
  • Fundraising Committee

    The EECB Grant Writing Committee is charged with the writing and submission of proposals to increase funding for EECB in general and the support of students in particular. Examples of target awards include federal funding for graduate programs, and fellowships that might be sponsored by state and federal agencies.

    A list of people serving on the Fundraising Committee
    Member Start date
    Sudeep Chandra 2018
    Jack Hayes 2018
    Lee Dyer 2018
  • Program Advisory Board

    The EECB Program Advisory Board (PAB) consists of the following voting members: EECB Program Director and chairs of departments with two or more active EECB Graduate Faculty. Also sitting on the Program Advisory Board, in a nonvoting capacity are the Assistant/Associate Program Directors. The EECB Program Advisory Board shall consider financial matters of EECB and proposed by-law changes. In addition, the Advisory Board shall provide the Program Director with advice regarding program planning, and decisions involving dismissal of students, and shall act as the appeals board for any decisions made by the director or any EECB standing committee. Any appeal from a student must be accompanied by a written evaluation of the appeal from the student's advisory committee.

    A list of people serving on the Program Advisory Board
    Member Chair Elected/appointed Start date
    Lee Dyer, Director EECB Y Elected 2014
    Jack Hayes, Chair Biology N N/A 2018
    Douglas Boyle, Chair Geography N N/A 2018
    Peter Weisberg, Chair NRES N N/A 2020
    David Zeh, Graduate Dean N N/A 2011
  • Student Awards Committee
    A list of people serving on the Student Awards Committee
    Member Chair Appointed Start date
    Jenny Ouyang Y Appointed 2018
    Jamie Voyles N Appointed 2018
    Kevin Shoemaker N Appointed 2018