2016 Northern Nevada Diversity Summit

Summit Flyer

Northern Nevada Diversity Summit - Exploring Diversity and Equity Through Access, Retention & Engagement

The Northern Nevada Diversity Summit titled "Exploring Diversity and Equity Through Access, Retention & Engagement" commenced Wednesday, April 6th, 2016 at 8:00 am and concluded Thursday, April 7th, 2016 at 5:30 pm.  The summit attracted over 400 attendees ranging from higher education personnel, college students, K-12 personnel, community leaders and organizations across multiple states.   The summit  included a keynote, panel discussion, and a total of 74 presentations in varying formats (poster presentations, 20 minute concurrent sessions, 30 minute roundtables, and 90 minute workshops).


Summit Sponsor Logos

Co-chairs of the Cultural Diversity Committee:
  • Kim Beers, Director, Human Resource Systems, UNR
  • Eleni Oikonomidoy, Associate Professor and Program Coordinator, Multicultural Education, UNR
Members of the 2015-2016 Northern Nevada Diversity Summit Organizing Committee and Cultural Diversity Committee (CDC):
  • Matthew Aguirre, Graduate Research Assistant, President's Office, UNR
  • Yevonne Allen, Specialist, Equity and Inclusion Office, TMCC
  • Jill Atkinson, Director, Equity and Inclusion Office, TMCC
  • Larry Dailey, Professor and Chair of Media Technology, Reynolds School of Journalism, UNR
  • Lydia DeFlorio, Assistant Professor, College of Education, UNR
  • Kari Emm, Transfer Recruitment Coordinator, Office of Prospective Students, UNR
  • Ryan Erhart, Graduate Research Assistant, Nevada Wolf Shop, UNR
  • Jeremy Floyd, Librarian II, Libraries, UNR
  • Louis Forline, Associate Professor, Anthropology, UNR
  • Geoffrey Green, Financial Aid Advisor, Financial Aid and Scholarships, UNR
  • Timothy Griffin, Associate Professor, Criminal Justice, UNR
  • Blane Harding, Director, Center for Student Cultural Diversity, UNR
  • Michelle Hernandez, Human Resources Business Partner, Renown
  • Debra Harry, Faculty, Gender, Race, and Identity, UNR
  • Thomas Hertweck, Lecturer and Assistant Director, English, UNR
  • Hyun-Joo Jeon, Assistant Professor, College of Education, UNR
  • Sadhana Joshi, Graduate Research Assistant, Office of International Students and Scholars, UNR
  • Sandesh Kannan, External Vice President, Graduate Student Association, UNR
  • Teresa Larson, Budget Analyst, University of Nevada School of Medicine Budget and Finance, UNR
  • Albert Lee, Assistant Professor, Music, UNR
  • Zhizhong Li, Supervisor of Clinical Nursing, SICU/SMICU, Renown
  • Saundra Mitrovich, Outreach and Retention Coordinator, Center for Student Cultural Diversity, UNR
  • Meridith Oda, Assistant Professor, History, UNR
  • Sandra Prytherch, Program Manager, Raggio Research Center for STEM Education, UNR
  • Juana Reynoza-Gomez, Coordinator of Student Affairs and Outreach, College of Agriculture, Biotechnology and Natural Resources, UNR
  • Patricia Richard, Chief Diversity Officer, President's Office, UNR
  • Adilia Ross, International Student Advisor, Office of International Students and Scholars, UNR
  • Rajaratnam Siddharthan, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering, UNR
  • Lane Simonian, Instructor, Humanities, WNC
  • Lauren Slemenda, Resident Director, Residential Life, Housing & Food Services, UNR
  • Wei-Chen Tung, Associate Professor, Orvis School of Nursing, UNR
  • Shernaaz Webster, Psychologist, Counseling Services, UNR
  • Kaprece Young, Director of Diversity and Inclusion, Associated Students of the University of Nevada, UNR
  • Veronica Zepeda, Lecturer, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, UNR