Lab and administrative staff

Administrative Faculty
Rose M. Beeler
Rose M. Beeler
Director of Laboratories
(775) 682-8304
1083
Administrative Faculty
Stephen M.  Spain
Stephen M. Spain
Director of Instrumentation
(775) 784-6019
1083

Chemistry Department support staff

Shari Baughman

Staff Research Associate III
E-mail:  sbaughman@unr.edu
Phone:  (775) 784-8027
Office: DMS 301A

  • Shari Baughman works in the organic chemistry stockroom (third floor, DMSC) and sets up experiments for organic chemistry teaching laboratories.

Chris Carson

Staff Research Associate III
E-mail:  ccarson@unr.edu
Phone:  (775) 784-6706
Office:  CB 017

  • Chemistry buyer/storekeeper Chris Carson purchases chemicals and lab equipment for use in chemistry research and supervises the main research stockroom (CB basement).  Chris receives and distributes chemicals and labware for the chemistry department.

Destiny-Erin Sheehan

Administrative Assistant II
E-mail: dsheehan@unr.edu
Phone:  (775) 784-6041
Office: :  CB 213

  • Destiny Sheehan assists students, faculty, and staff with administrative tasks in the main chemistry office

Jake Holland

Development Technician IV
E-mail:  jholland@unr.edu
Phone:  (775) 784-7050
Office:  Machine Shop (LP B16)

  • Machinist Jake Holland fabricates specialized instruments for research projects in the department.  The machine shop capabilities include milling, lathe work, and vacuum welding.

Phillip Keller

Staff Research Associate III
E-mail:  pkeller@unr.edu
Phone:  (775) 784-6708
Office:  DMS 301A

  • Phil Keller works in the advanced chemistry labs (third floor, DMSC) and sets up experiments for various advanced chemistry teaching laboratories.

Susan Kinder

Administrative Assistant III
E-mail:  skinder@unr.edu
Phone:  (775) 682-5760
Office:  CB 213

  • As Graduate Secretary, Susan Kinder maintains records and contracts for graduate students and applicants to the graduate program in Chemistry.

Rachel Kilgore

Staff Research Associate III
E-mail: rkilgore@unr.edu
Phone:  (775) 784-8003
Office:  DMS 404

  • Rachel Kilgore works in the general chemistry stockroom (fourth floor, Davidson building) and sets up experiments for general chemistry teaching laboratories.

Janina Ruprecht

Staff Research Associate IV
E-mail:  jruprecht@unr.edu
Phone: (775) 682-5765
Office: CB 008

  • As Associate SIL Director, Nina Ruprecht maintains the department's powder diffraction instrumentation and assists Dr. Stephen Spain with SIL management and training.

Ekaterina Tsareva

NSHE Specialist I/Office Manager
E-mail:  etsareva@unr.edu
Phone:  (775) 682-5770
Office:  CB 213

  • As Office Manager, Katie Tsareva supervises the office staff, monitors department programs, provides support to the department chair, and is the primary resource person for faculty and staff.

Xiaoyan "Shirley" Yang

Staff Research Associate III
E-mail:  xiaoyany@unr.edu
Phone:  (775) 784-8003
Office:  DMS 404

  • Shirley Yang works in the general chemistry stockroom (fourth floor, Davidson building) and sets up experiments for general chemistry teaching laboratories.