Nevada Medal

bridge at night

Nevada Medal for Distinguished Graduate Student Paper in Bridge Engineering

Bridge engineering is an evolving and vibrant field within civil engineering. Academic institutions worldwide are researching innovative and groundbreaking ideas and concepts. The Civil and Environmental Engineering Department at the University of Nevada, Reno, as a leader in pioneering bridge engineering research, wishes to recognize outstanding graduate student contributions to state-of-the-art bridge engineering through the Nevada Medal for Distinguished Student Paper in Bridge Engineering.

2019 Winner

Congratulations to David Duck, the 2019 winner of the Nevada Medal.

Format and Submission

Submissions for the 2020 competition are due by February 17, 2020. Please refer to the paper submission instructions (.docx) for complete details.


The recipient will receive $1,500 cash, a gold medal, and a plaque. The certificate will show the title of the award as well as the name of the winner. Information about the award and the winner will be publicized in internationally distributed newsletters, the University of Nevada, Reno website, and the College of Engineering Alumni Newsletter.


Original papers are sought that describe research conducted by current doctoral or master's degree students in civil engineering addressing innovative approaches or concepts applied to bridge engineering with potentially important impact in bridge design. The papers need to be full length and describe a completed study with final conclusions. The papers must be authored by the student and be written in English. The winning paper or any of its parts may be used in conjunction with publicity for this medal. Copyrights shall remain with the author.


The funding for the award and the associated costs for this competition are provided through an endowment established by Simon Wong Engineering, San Diego, California. Mr. Wong is an alumnus of the Department of Civil Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno, where he completed a BSCE (‘79) and an MSCE (‘84) degree specializing in structural engineering. The endowment funded the award from 1999 to 2014. Starting in 2015, Civil and Environmental Engineering Department resources have been used for the award.


Student papers from Ph.D. and M.S. students are solicited via the chairs of all accredited civil engineering programs in the United States, faculty who are active in bridge engineering research in the US and other countries, and members of international bridge engineering organizations. The award recipient will be also announced on the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering home page as well as in internationally distributed sources.


The evaluation of the papers is conducted by the members of the Advisory and Evaluators Board, with a minimum of three reviews for each paper. The membership of the board committee is composed of bridge engineering researchers and designers worldwide. The entries are judged based on the originality of the research, potential impact on bridge engineering design and construction, and clarity of presentation.


Hamed Ebrahimian
Elnaz Seylabi


  • Nagi Aboshadi, Professional Engineering Center, Brea, CA
  • Farhad Ansari, University of Illinois, Chicago, IL
  • Abolhassan Astaneh-Asl, University of California, Berkeley
  • Atorod Azizi, Florida International University, Miami, FL
  • Andrjez Brandt, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
  • JoAnne Browning, University of San Antonio, TX
  • Ian Buckle, University of Nevada, Reno, NV
  • G. Michele Calvi, University of di Pava, Italy
  • Robb Chai, University of California, Davis, CA
  • Zhi-yuan Cheng, Figg International, Tallahassee, FL
  • Juan Correal, University of Los Andes, Bogota, Columbia
  • Carlos Cruz, University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada
  • Ihab Darwish, Alfred Benesch & Company, E. Lansing, MI
  • Arya Ebrahimpour, Idaho State University, Pocatello, ID
  • Mo Ehsani, Quake Wrap Inc, Tucson, AZ
  • Mohammed El Gawady, Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, Missouri
  • Matej Fischinger, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Mike Forde, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Dan Frangopol, Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA
  • Cathy French, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
  • George Ghusn, Blakely/Johnson/Ghusn, Inc., Reno, NV
  • Zach Haber, Genex Systems, McLean, VA
  • Monique Head, Morgan State University, Baltimore, MD
  • Tatjana Isakovic, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Ahmad Itani, University of Nevada, Reno, NV
  • Yang Jiang, HNTB, Seattle, WA
  • Nathan Johnson, Keinfelder, San Diego, CA
  • Andreas Kappos, University of Thessaloniki, Greece
  • Kazuhiko Kawashima, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • Sashi Kunnath, University of California, Davis, CA
  • Kevin Mackie, University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL
  • E. Manos Maragakis, University of Nevada, Reno, NV
  • Amir Mirmiran, Florida International University, Miami, FL
  • Sarira Motaref, University of Connecticut, Storr, CT
  • Tony Naaman, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Antonio Nanni, University of Miami, FL
  • Hani Nassif, Rutgers University, Brunswick, NJ
  • Andy Nowak, University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NB
  • Jamie Padgett, Rice University, Houston, TX
  • Azadeh Parvin, University of Toledo, Toledo, OH
  • Gokhan Pekcan, University of Nevada, Reno, NV
  • Brent Phares, Iowa State University, Ames, IA
  • Claudia Pulido, Kiewit Construction, Denver, CO
  • Keri Ryan, University of Nevada, Reno, NV David Sanders University of Nevada, Reno, NV
  • Frieder Seible, Monash University, Frankston, VIC, Australia
  • Raj Siddharthan, University of Nevada, Reno, NV
  • Pedro Silva, George Washington University, Washington, DC
  • Nadim Wehbe, N. Dakota State University, Brooking, SD
  • Eric Williamson, University of Texas, Austin, TX
  • Arash Zaghi, University of Connecticut, Storr, CT
  • Yang Zhang, HNTB, Seattle, WA