Diversity Statement

The Department of Anthropology at the University of Nevada, Reno stands in solidarity with our Black students, faculty, and staff at this time, and at all times. We unequivocally condemn the acts of police (both by those directly involved and by those who witness and say nothing) in the murders of George Floyd, Breonna Taylor, Tony McDade, and so very many others. We decry the murder of Ahmaud Arbery and all victims of racist hate crimes. We demand the perpetrators of these heinous acts be held accountable, and we commit to extending that accountability toward those in our classes and on our campus who engage in any manner of racist behavior. We condemn the brutal use of force to dispel peaceful protestors and we abhor the increasing militarization of our police forces that is used to cow, humiliate, and kill Black Americans. We will not stand for anti-Blackness in any way, shape, or form.

Our discipline leads the way in demonstrating the fallacy of the notion of biological race and in documenting the terrible effects of individual and systemic racism on Black people in this country and in the world at large. It is our foremost responsibility to help change, dispel, and dissolve the social, ideological, and institutional structures that continue to devalue and dismiss Black lives.

We urge all leadership and faculty on campus to reach out and offer solidarity, and promise to take concrete action towards making a more just, a more equitable, and above all, a safer space for everyone at the University of Nevada, Reno. Returning to the status quo after this period of protest is unacceptable, and we must move forward. Effecting this type of positive change will require active commitment and engagement from everyone, regardless of background, from across campus, and throughout our community. As a department, we commit to doing exactly that to create and maintain meaningful change in our institutional and public spaces.

We are listening and we promise to take action.

Black lives matter.

Signed by University of Nevada, Reno anthropology faculty:

Deborah Boehm
Sarah Cowie
Jenanne Ferguson
Louis Forline
Christopher Jazwa
Christopher Morgan
Marin Pilloud
Mikaela Rogozen-Soltar
Richard Scott
Geoffrey Smith
Erin Stiles
Kyra Stull
Carolyn White