Skip Site Navigation
Skip To Page Content

Print and Share

Spedding Award

Breaking News:

2014 Frank H. Spedding Award Winner


Dr. Joe D. Thompson Los Alamos National Laboratory for outstanding contributions to the physics of f-element materials, especially their magnetism and unconventional superconductivity.

This prestigious award is given in recognition of excellence and achievement in research centered on the science and technology of rare earths.  The awardee is selected by a committee from submitted nominations. The award consists of a medal mounted on a plaque and a monetary sum of $5,000. The Spedding Award winner will be asked to present a lecture on the highlights of his or her work at the meeting. 

Spedding Award Organizer and Committee Chair:

Dr. John Sarrao:

Previous award recipients are:

  • Gerd Meyer
  • William J. Evans
  • John Corbett
  • Lynn Boatner
  • Brian Maple
  • Gregory R. Choppin
  • LeRoy Eyring
  • Karl Gschneidner
  • B.R. Judd
  • Bjerrum Moeller
  • A. Mackintosch
  • W. Koehler
  • S. Levgold
  • Georg Busch
  • W.E. Wallace

University Block N Logo

University of Nevada, Reno

University of Nevada, Reno
1664 N. Virginia Street
Reno,  NV  89557-

(775) 784-1110
Website Help
Contact Us

Emergency Information

Emergency Alerts
Doing business with us