Regents' Academic Advisor Award

The University Academic Advisor Award is given annually to faculty or staff members with distinguished records of student advisement. Two awards are granted, one for undergraduate advisement and one for graduate advisement. Full-time faculty, professional staff, and classified staff who provide academic advising as part of their regular or primary assignment are eligible for the award. Although these awards are intended for individuals, groups who have made outstanding contributions in academic advising may be recognized as well. Recipients of the UNR award receive or $1,000 and are recognized at the annual Honor the Best ceremony. The recipients of the UNR award are then eligible for the Regent's Academic Advisor Award. The Regents provide one system-wide award of $5000 each for the Regent's Undergraduate Advisor Award and the Regent's Graduate Advising Award. Recipients also receive an invitation to a reception sponsored by the Regents toward the end of the spring semester. Nominations are requested in the early fall and can be made by any member of the university community.

Any employee or student of the university may submit one name in nomination for this award.  To nominate, send a letter of nomination to the nominee's dean.  Since the nomination letter becomes part of the nomination materials submitted to the UNR selection committee and the Board of Regents, it should describe in as much detail as possible why the candidate is deserving of this recognition.  Also, please specify if you are nominating your candidate for the Undergraduate or Graduate Advising Award.

The University of Nevada, Reno started awarding a separate award in 2007. That winner is also forwarded on to the Board of Regents for consideration for the Regents' Academic Advisor award.

Previous University and Regents' Academic Advisor Winners:

Graduate Advisors

  • Jane Detweiler (2015)
  • Cheryll Glotfelty* (2014)
  • Robert Ostergard (2012) & *(2013)
  • Thomas Harrison (2011)
  • Jamie Anderson* (2010)
  • Kambiz Raffiee (2009)
  • C. Richard Tracy* (2008)
  • Mary Ann Demchak (2007)
  • Scott Slovic* (2005)
  • Scott Tyler* (2004)
  • Deborah Kuhls* (2003)
  • Lynda Wiest* (2002)
  • Joe Cline* (2001)
  • Mary Maples* (2000)
  • Martha Combs* (1999)
  • Gary Vinyard (Posthumous) (1998)

Undergraduate Advisors

  • Erin Stiles* (2015)
  • Kathy Leonard (2014)
  • Elena Pravosudova (2013)
  • Cynthia Birk* (2012)
  • Jennifer O'Neil* (2011)
  • David Fenimore (2010)
  • Elliott Parker* (2009)
  • Lorena Beck* (2008)
  • Sean Casey (2007)
  • Kristi Van Gorder* (2006)
  • Christie Howard & Eileen Hickey (Advising Team)* (2005)
  • V. Dean Adams* (2004)
  • Nancy Markee* (2003)
  • Debra Holman* (2002)
  • Chris Cheney* (2001)
  • Chris Exline* (2000)
  • Rena Armstrong* (1999)

*Indicates a Regents' Academic Advisor Award Winner.