Faramarz GordaninejadFaramarz Gordaninejad
Foundation Professor
ASME Fellow

Ph.D. 1983, MS 1980, the University of Oklahoma
BS 1977, University of Tehran

Phone: (775) 784-6990
Fax: (775) 784-1701
Office: Palmer Engineering, Room 105
E-mail: faramarz@unr.edu
Website: http://CIML.me.unr.edu
Address: Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, MS 312; University of Nevada, Reno; Reno, NV 89557

Research/outreach areas

  • Vibration control of mechanical systems and structures; field-controllable electro- and magneto-rheological fluids and devices; shape memory alloy actuators; mechanics of composite materials and structures; and thermally conductive fibrous composite materials.
  • Conference Chairman of the 10th International Conference on Electrorheological (ER) Fluids and Magnetorheological (MR) Suspensions, “ERMR 2006”, Lake Tahoe, June 18-22, 2006; Conference Co-Chair of the 3rd International Conference on Advanced Smart Materials and Smart Structures Technology, Lake Tahoe, May 29-30, 2006; Conference Chairman of the 5th NSF National Coordination Meeting on Structural Control at UNR, 1997; served on the editorial Boards of the Journal of Advanced Materials, and the Journal of Structural Control, Journal of Composites: Part B.

Relevant experience

  • Dr. Faramarz Gordaninejad, received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Oklahoma.  His research focus is on theoretical and experimental methods in materials, mechanics, structures, heat transfer, and structural control. His teaching interest is in the general area of mechanics of materials. He has more than 200 publications, and 10 U.S. patents. He has managed many research projects from government agencies and leading industry, such as, the National Science Foundation, US Army Research Office, US Navy, Department of Energy, Visteon, Boeing, Texaco, Equilon, Northrop Grumman, and SAF-Holland.  

Awards and Honors

  • University of Nevada, Reno, Outstanding Researcher of the Year Award, 2006
  • The Rudolf W. Gunnerman Silver State Award for Scientific Excellence, 2003.
  • University of Nevada, Reno Foundation Professor, 2000.
  • Fellow, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, 1999.
  • University of Nevada, Reno, Lemenson Award for Innovation in Research, 1998.
  • National Science Foundation Research Initiation Award, 1989.