skip to main content

Department News

Miles Greiner and students

2014 News

Kam Leang Congratulations to Dr. Kam K. Leang on receiving the 2014 Nevada System of Higher Education Board of Regents' Rising Researcher of the Year Award. The award is granted to researchers across the state's eight institutions who demonstrate excellence in research.

Chanwoo Park Congratulations to Dr. Chanwoo Park on winning the National Science Foundation CAREER Award, project entitled, "CAREER: Multi-Scale Thin-Film Evaporation Enhancement Using Hierarchical Tri-Porous Media".

Eric Wang Graduate student Andrew Smith, advised by Profs. Eric Wang and Jeff LaCombe, wins the best student paper at an AIAA conference: Smith, Andrew J. "Aerial Deployed Unfolding Autonomous Glider System," 2014 AIAA Region VI Student Conference, Sacramento, California, March 1-2, 2014.

Henry Fu Congratulations to Dr. Henry Fu on receiving National Science Foundation grant, project entitled, "Collaborative Research: Bacterial Flagellar Forests: Designing a Biomaterial for Bio-Enabled Sensing and Actuation". The three-year project is in collaboration with Prof. MinJun Kim of Drexel University.

Haris Doumanidis The Mechanical Engineering Department proudly announces Marie Curie Professor Haris Doumanidis as new Department Chair. Prof. Doumanidis holds his Diploma in Mechanical Engineering from the Aristotelian Univ. of Thessaloniki (1983), his M.S. from Northwestern University (1985), and his Ph.D. from MIT (1988).

His research and teaching interests include nanomanufacturing (nanocomposite foils by ultrasonic welding, reactive bimetallic/AAO nanoheaters, tissue scaffolds by electrospinning of nanofibers, ultrasonic and laser consolidation of nanopowders), thermal manufacturing, material deposition and joining processes, rapid prototyping, rapid thermal processing and laser annealing of semiconductors, distributed parameter system modeling and control, robotics and mechatronics, and biomedical instrumentation.

Faramarz Gordaninejad Congratulations to Professor Gordaninejad and his team (co-PIs: A. Itani, G. Pekcan, and N. Publicover) on their new contract ($815K) from the Federal Highway Administration. Their project is entitled, "A Self-Sensing Adaptive Material for New Generation of Multifunctional Highway Bridge Bearing System".

2013 News

Kam Leang Dr. Kam K. Leang and his colleagues at UNLV [Kim (Sc-I), Yim, Lee], TMCC [Vollstedt] and DRI [Fritsen (PI)] receive NASA EPSCoR funding, project entitled, "Advanced Electroactive Polymer Actuators and Sensors for Aerospace Robotic Applications ($1.1M).

matteo aureli Mechanical Engineering Department welcomes new faculty, Dr. Matteo Aureli. Dr. Aureli's research expertise includes smart materials and systems, vibration and dynamics, multiphysics modeling, and fluid structure interaction. Dr. Aureli received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Polytechnic Institute of New York University in 2012.

chanwoo park Dr. Chanwoo Park receives multiple grants from U.S. DOD, EPA, NSF, Hyundai Motor Company and Regional Transportation Commission of Washoe County, Nevada to develop various clean technologies for waste heat-driven membrane distillation, Electric Vehicles (EV) battery thermal management system and electric transit bus. Recognizing the ever increasing demand for clean energy and water, Dr. Park's research team in the Sustainable Energy Laboratory in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Nevada, Reno has put their focus on key research projects addressing these pressing matters.

Kam Leang Dr. Kam Leang receives 2013 College of Engineering Faculty Excellence Award, recognizing his outstanding contributions that have had a transformative impact on the Mechanical Engineering Department and the College of Engineering, University of Nevada, Reno.

henry fu Congratulations to Dr. Henry Fu on winning the National Science Foundation CAREER Award, project entitled, "CAREER: Microorganisms swimming around microstructural heterogeneity".

2012 News

emil geiger Congratulations to Dr. Emil Geiger on his new National Science Foundation grant entitled, "Cell Sorting and Separation via High Frequency Dielectrophoresis".

Kam Leang Dr. Kam Leang and his co-authors' recent journal article entitled, "Invited Review Article: High-speed flexure-guided nanopositioning: Mechanical design and control issues" featured on the cover of the December 2012 issue of Review of Scientific Instruments.

angelina padilla The ME Department welcomes new faculty member, Dr. Angelina Padilla. She received her B.S. in Mechanical Engineering from UC Davis in 2006, her M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from Kansas State University, and her Ph.D. from Stanford University in 2012. She currently is a lecturer with primary interests in fluid dynamics, particle transport, heat transfer and engineering education.

henry fu Warm congratulations to Professor Henry Fu and his co-authors for their recent two publications in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences USA,"Bacterial rheotaxis" by Marcos, H. C. Fu, T. R. Powers, R. Stocker, 109, 4780-4785 (2012) and "The heterogeneous motility of the Lyme disease spirochete in gelatin mimics dissemination through tissue" by M. W.Harman, S. M. Dunham-Ems, M. J. Caimano, A. A. Belperron, L. K. Bockenstedt, H. C. Fu, J. D. Radolf, and C. W. Wolgemuth, 109, 3059-3064 (2012).

ron gibson Dr. Ron Gibson presented an invited keynote paper on"Experimental and numerical characterization of relaxation in bolted composite joints" at the International Congress on Experimental & Applied Mechanics organized by the Society for Experimental Mechanics, June 11-14, 2012 in Costa Mesa, CA. He also moderated an academic panel session on "New breakthroughs, future materials, preparing students to take the lead - a global perspective" at the Society for the Advancement of Material and Process Engineering Conference, May 21-24, 2012 in Baltimore, MD.

emil geiger Congratulation to Dr. Emil Geiger for winning one of 30 Ralph E. Powe Junior Faculty Enhancement Award from Oak Ridge Associated Universities in 2012. His proposal was entitled: Separation of Microalgae on the Basis of Lipid Content via High Frequency Dielectrophoresis.

miles greiner On May 8, 2012, Mechanical Engineering Professor Miles Greiner was awarded $745,000 from the US Department of Energy, Nuclear Energy University Program (NEUP) for the project entitled "Development and Experimental Benchmark of Simulations to Predict Used Nuclear Fuel Cladding Temperatures during Drying and Transfer Operations." All moisture must be removed form used nuclear fuel assemblies before they are sealed in canisters for on-site dry storage or off-site transport. If certain assembly components become too hot during drying, they may become brittle, which inhibits their ability to be transported or stored for long periods of time. This project will develop computational fluid dynamics (CFD) models of the drying process that will accurately predict the assembly temperature. The new models will be used by engineers to design drying processes that maintain the fuel assemblies at acceptably low temperatures.

faramarz gordaninejad Professor Gordaninejad receives the Regents' Researcher Award. The Board of Regents established the Regents' Researcher Award in 1992. This award is bestowed upon faculty members with a substantial record of accomplishments, including a significant amount of research and scholarly work with recognition, clear evidence of the national and/or international stature of the research, and in the case of grants and contracts, must have been competitive on a national or international level. The 2012 honoree is Dr. Faramarz Gordaninejad of the University of Nevada, Reno.

Take the next step...