skip to main content

The Team

Thomas White

Executive Director of Marketing & Communications

Thomas White

Thomas fosters a collaborative workplace where big ideas are encouraged and steady excellence is the goal. As an optimistic observer of the possibilities, he believes good marketing is equal parts realism and idealism.

Thomas also trusts that none of us is as smart of all of us, so he and his talented team work collaboratively with their University partners to provide a communications framework through which to reveal the academic might and authenticity found in abundance at the University of Nevada, Reno.

Together, they develop technology and metric-driven programs driven by compelling design and messaging that deepen the connection to target audiences in sustainable ways.

(775) 784-4832
thomaswhite@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Operations


Mike McDowell

Manager of Marketing Operations

Photo of Mike McDowell

Mike is responsible for increasing the efficiency and effectiveness of the Office of Marketing and Communications via development and implementation of departmental strategies, policies and practices.

(775) 784-4804
mikemcdowell@unr.edu

Creative Services


David Branby

Creative Director

David Branby

As manager of the University of Nevada, Reno brand, David provides creative direction, creative campaign writing and oversight of University-wide brand compliance.

(775) 784-6187
dbranby@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Jodi Tenenbaum

Graphic Designer

Jodi Tenenbaum

Jodi crafts the look and feel for several University units, including the Office for Prospective Students.

(775) 784-1214
jtenenbaum@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Lucy Walker

Support Specialist

Lucy Walker

Even as a part-timer, Lucy manages to offer both user support and management of digital assets.

(775) 784-1580
lwalker@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Web Development


Deaon Kolbet-Clausell

Director of Web Development

Photo of Deaon Kolbet-Clausell

Deaon makes the web.
(775) 682-7643
deaon@unr.edu

Raymond Lee

Web Developer

Raymond Lee

Ray makes the web work.
(775) 784-1581
rlee01@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Oswaldo Mendoza

Web Designer

Oswaldo Mendoza

Oswaldo makes the web look good.
(775) 784-1581
mendozao@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Digital Marketing


Michael Brown

Director of Digital Marketing

Michael Brown

Michael takes an analytics-driven approach in online media, marketing, and content strategy.

(775) 784-1580
msbrown@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Karl Fendelander

Chief Content Strategist

Photo of Karl Fendelander

Karl works with communicators across campus to tell, manage and promote stories about our beautiful University.

(775) 682-7639
kfendelander@unr

John Trent

Senior Editor, News & Features

John Trent

John writes news and feature stories chronicling the major accomplishments and life of the University.
(775) 784-4959
jtrent@unr.edu

Kerri Garcia

Director of Communications

Kerri Garcia

Topic Areas.

  • Office of the President
  • Office of the Provost
  • Central University administration: development, facilities, human resources, information technology, police, student services
  • Student recruitment, success and engagement

(775) 784-1880
kerrig@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Mike Wolterbeek

Communications Officer

Mike Wolterbeek

Topic Areas.

  • Agriculture
  • Biotechnology
  • Engineering
  • Environmental sciences, renewable energy
  • Industry collaborations, technology transfer
  • Natural resources
  • Research
  • Science

(775) 784-4547
mwolterbeek@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Natalie Savidge

Senior Communications Specialist

Natalie Savidge

Topic Areas.

  • General University inquiries
  • Liberal arts and humanities
  • Criminal justice
  • Psychology and sociology

(775) 784-4611
nsavidge@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Nicole Shearer

Communications Officer

Nicole Shearer

Topic Areas.

  • Business and economics
  • Education
  • Environmental issues and sustainability
  • Gaming/gambling
  • Health, including community health and nursing
  • Politics and political science
  • Student services including student recruitment, success and engagement, student causes, programs, events and government
  • Police Services
  • University Social Media

(775) 784-1169
nshearer@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Claudia Ortega-Lukas

Graphic Designer

Claudia Ortega-Lukas

Claudia creates compelling designs for many of the University's divisions, colleges and schools.

(775) 784-6127
cortega@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Division-Based Staff


Cindy Pratte

Web Communications Specialist

Cindy Pratte

Cindy provides web content support for the College of Agriculture, Biotechnology & Natural Resources and the College of Science.

(775) 682-6720
cpratte@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Kirstin Swagman

Web Communications Specialist

Kirstin Swagman

Kirstin provides web content support for the College of Engineering and its five academic departments.

(775) 682-7753
kswagman@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Yun Ku

Web Communications Specialist

Yun Ku

Yun provides web content support for the College of Liberal Arts and the School of the Arts.

(775) 682-7506
yku@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Alex Vanderhoff

Web Communications Specialist

Alex Vanderhoff

Alex provides web content support for the Division of Research & Innovation.

(775) 682-7515
alexv@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Student Interns


Brett Knadle

Web Development Intern

Brett Knadle

A Senior in Computer Science and Engineering, Brett is excellent at data analysis.

(775) 682-9247
bknadle@unr.edu

Ryan Battistone

Web Development Intern

Ryan Battistone

Ryan has the continuous responsibility of website maintenance. He implements a full stack web development approach to research and develop ways to make sites more marketable, engaging and secure.

(775) 682-9247
rbattistone@unr.edu

Matthew Ravaglioli

Marketing and Communications Intern

Matthew Ravaglioli

An artist and a writer, Matt loves working in a variety of areas related to promotional development and content.

(775) 784-4542
mravaglioli@unr.edu
LinkedIn Profile

Take the next step...