Follow these instructions to share a file on ownCloud with another member of the University (e.g. they also have a NetID).
After sharing the file, there are some options that appear next to the user's name.
Checking this box will send a notification to the user informing them that you have shared a file using ownCloud.
This box is checked by default. This allows the user to update the file, delete the file, and share the file with other people. These rights can be restricted by clicking on the small arrow to the right of "can edit" and unchecking the various options that appear. Read-only access can be granted by unchecking the "can edit" box entirely.
Information on making the share available for a limited amount of time can be found in the Expiration Date instructions.