skip to main content

Academic Advising

About Academic Advising

The Mackay School of Earth Sciences and Engineering recommends that students meet with their advisor at least once a semester to ensure that they are progressing towards graduation in a timely manner. Advisors are also a great resource for answering questions regarding graduate school, career options, internships, etc.

Freshmen, Sophomores & Incoming Transfers

Jennifer O'Neil provides advising for all continuing freshmen, sophomores, and incoming transfer students with majors in the Mackay School of Earth Sciences & Engineering (MSESE).

Jennifer O'Neil
Academic Advisor (Freshmen, Sophomores and new Transfer Students)
Mackay Mines Building (MM) Rm 106
(775) 682-8747
joneil@unr.edu

Faculty Advisors

Our Faculty Advisors are here to help students navigate their undergraduate and graduate experience within the Mackay School of Earth Science and Engineering.

General Geology

Dr. John McCormack (775) 784-6991, LME408 mccormac@mines.unr.edu

Geological Engineering

Dr. Robert Watters (775) 784-6069, LMR 365 watters@unr.edu

Dr. Ron Breitmeyer (775) 682-6049, LME 407 rbreitmeyer@unr.edu

Dr. Scott McCoy (775) 682-7205, LME 411 scottmccoy@unr.edu

Hydrogeology

Dr. Scott Tyler (775) 784-1785 LMR257 tylers@unr.edu

Geophysics

Dr. Wendy Calvin (775) 784-1785 LME407 wcalvin@unr.edu

Dr. John Louie (775) 784-4219 LME217 louie@seismo.unr.edu

Take the next step...