2016-17 Faculty Senate Members > Executive Board

Executive Board

Fred Harris, Chair
Phone: (775) 784-6571

Brief Bio: Fred is a professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering. He received his B.S. in 1986 from Bob Jones University, M.S. in 1988 from Bob Jones University, an additional M.S. in 1991 from Clemson University, and his Ph.D. in 1994 from Clemson University. His reseach interests include Parallel Computing, Cortical Simulation, Graph Algorithms, Computer Graphics, Virtual Reality, and Scientific Visualization. His past experience includes research projects funded by NSF, NASA, ONR, DoD, and Sun Microsystems. He was in charge of the external software testing for one of NASA's planetary landers to Mars and has also developed parallel applications that have been used in industry by companies such as AT&T and Southern Bell. Fred has also served as the Interim Senior Director of the Center for Advanced Visualization, Computation and Modeling at the Desert Research Institute.

Tom Harrison, Chair-Elect
Phone: (775) 784-4345
Email: tch@unr.edu

Brief Bio: Tom Harrison is a professor of Counseling and Educational Psychology in the College of Education. He received his B.A in Philosophy from Furman University in 1971 and his Ph.D. from the University of Florida in 1983.

Kent Ervin, Parliamentarian
Term Expires: June 2018
Phone: (775) 784-6676

Brief Bio: Kent Ervin is the Clemons-Magee Professor of Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry, College of Science, and is a faculty member of the Chemical Physics Program.  He received his bachelor's degree from the University of Kansas and earned a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley.  Professor Ervin teaches at all levels of the Chemistry curriculum, including undergraduate physical chemistry and graduate level courses in physical chemistry, spectroscopy, and kinetics. His research group investigates the reactivity and dynamics of ion-molecule reactions using mass spectrometry techniques, with applications in the thermochemistry of neutral radical molecular species that are important as reactive intermediates in combustion and atmospheric chemistry.

Bernadette Longo, At Large
Term Expires: June 2018
Phone: (775) 682-7149
Website: website
Email: longo@unr.edu

Brief Bio: Bernadette Longo is an Associate Professor in the Orvis School of Nursing, Division of Health Sciences. She is a nurse epidemologist specializing in Environmental Health. Her main research interests are identification of health effects from volcanic andwildfire smoke air pollution, followed by development of interventions to prevent disease in exposed populations.

Molly Beisler, At Large
Term Expires: June 2018
Phone: (775) 682-5602
Website: website
Email: abeisler@unr.edu

Brief Bio: Molly Beisler is the Head of Discovery Services in the University Libraries, and is the subject liaison for World Languages and Literatures. She received her BA in Middle East Studies from Brown University, her MA in Arabic Language & Literature from Indiana University, and her MLS from the University at Albany, SUNY. She worked for a number of years at UNR as a metadata & cataloging librarian, cataloging materials for the Basque Library, Special Collections, and the general collection before becoming Head of Metadata & Cataloging and then moving into her current position managing access to the Libraries’ online resources. Prior to moving to Reno in 2003, she was an archivist in Albany, NY. She has published articles in the Journal of Academic Librarianship, Serials Review, Collaborative Librarianship, and the Journal of Library Metadata.

David Sanders, Past Chair
Phone: (775) 784-4288
Website: website
Email: sanders@unr.edu

Brief Bio: David Sanders is a professor in Civil and Environmental Engineering. David received a B.Sc. in 1984 from Iowa State University, an M.S. in 1986 and a Ph.D. in 1990 from the University of Texas at Austin.  He has been at the University of Nevada since 1990.  He is UNR Foundation Professor, and a Fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers and the American Concrete Institute.  He conducts research in the behavior and design of structural concrete with an emphasis in the seismic performance of bridges.   He has over 250 research publications.  He has been the PI or co-PI of $13 million of research.  He has been selected as the Senior Scholar Faculty Mentor six times and received the CEE Faculty Appreciation Award five times.  He has received two alumni awards from Iowa State University.  He has chair many committees at the department, college and university levels, and many technical committees outside the university. He is currently a member and subcommittee chair for the national structural concrete building code committee.

Michelle HritzMichelle Hritz, Faculty Senate Manager
Phone: (775) 682-7518
Email: mhritz@unr.edu

Brief Bio: Michelle has been at the University of Nevada, Reno as the Faculty Senate Manger since 2008. Michelle is a native Nevadan who received a dual degree in Psychology and Criminal Justice with a minor in Social Work from the University of Nevada, Reno. Later she pursued a master's degree in elementary education, leaving one semester shy of her degree to pursue a professional endeavor with the YMCA of the Sierra. She spent thirteen years at the Sparks Family YMCA in various roles beginning as a youth worker and leaving as the Executive Director. She then worked for the State of Nevada, Department of Health and Human Services as the grant administrator for the federal Social Services Block Grant.