Skip Site Navigation
Skip To Page Content

Institutional Biosafety Committee

Committee Minutes

Browse all committee minutes.

Purpose

The committee promotes a safe campus environment by developing specific policies and procedures that reduce risks to the University of Nevada, Reno community associated with biological agents in accordance with guidelines established by the National Institutes of Health, OSHA, and appropriate state and local authorities

Committee Issues

  • Biological agents inventory and reporting
  • Memorandum of understanding and agreement review and approval
  • Current and ongoing biosafety issues

Committee Members

Committee Chair

William Courchesne, Ph.D.
Institutional Biosafety Committee Chair
Assoc. Professor, Microbiology
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 784-4113
wec@med.unr.edu

Other Members

John C. Cushman, Ph.D.
Professor, Biochemistry
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 784-1918
jcushman@unr.edu

Walter Mandeville, D.V.M.
Clinical Lab Animal Veterinarian, Lab Animal Medicine
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 784-4874
wmandeville@unr.edu

Ken Hunter, Sc.D.
Professor, Microbiology
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775)-327-5255
khunter@unr.edu

Danice Wilkins, Ph.D.
Research Scientist II, Program Director, Immunology
Charles River Laboratories, Preclinical Services NV
Phone (775) 682-2018
danice.wilkins@crl.com

Paul Michael Kivistik
Manager, Animal & Bio Research Compliance, EH&S
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 784-4981
kivistik@unr.edu

Sha Liao, Ph.D.
Application Specialist
Hamilton Company
Phone: (775) 858-3000
sliao@hamiltoncomp.com

Ben Owens, CIH, CBSP
Chemical Hygiene & Bio Safety Officer
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 327-5196
bowens@unr.edu

University Block N Logo

University of Nevada, Reno

University of Nevada, Reno
1664 N. Virginia Street
Reno,  NV  89557-

(775) 784-1110
Website Help
Contact Us

Copyright
Privacy
Accessibility Tools

Emergency Information
Emergency Alerts
Doing business with us