skip to main content

Institutional Biosafety Committee


The committee promotes a safe campus environment by developing specific policies and procedures that reduce risks to the University of Nevada, Reno community associated with biological agents in accordance with guidelines established by the National Institutes of Health, OSHA, and appropriate state and local authorities.

Committee Minutes

Browse all committee minutes.

Committee Issues

  • Biological agents inventory and reporting
  • Memorandum of understanding and agreement review and approval
  • Current and ongoing biosafety issues

Committee Contacts

William Courchesne, Ph.D.
Institutional Biosafety Committee Chair
Assoc. Professor, Microbiology
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 784-4113

Paul Michael Kivistik
Manager, Animal & Bio Research Compliance, EH&S
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 784-4981

Ben Owens, CIH, CBSP
Chemical Hygiene & Bio Safety Officer
University of Nevada, Reno
Phone: (775) 327-5196

Take the next step...