Doctoral Students

Sarah C. Barga

Sarah Barga

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
sarahcatherinebarga@gmail.com
Adviser: Elizabeth Leger
Website: sbarga.weebly.com
Research Areas: desert ecology, seed biology, local adaptation and phenotypic plasticity in plants


Tessa Behnke

Marcus Blum

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
tbehnke@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Jim Sedinger
Research Areas: population ecology, Threatened and Endangered species conservation


Marcus Blum

Marcus Blum

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
mblum@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Kelley Stewart
Research Areas: resource selection, large mammal population dynamics, behavioral ecology


Israel Borokini

Israel Borokini

Biology
tborokini@unr.edu
Adviser: Mary Peacock
Website: Borokini - Google Scholar
Research Areas: plant population genetics, ecological niche modeling, conservation biology


Carrie Branch

Carrie Branch

Biology
cbranch@unr.edu
Adviser: Vladimir Pravosudov
Research Areas: animal behavior and cognition, avian communication


Tim Caldwell

Tim Caldwell

Biology
timothycaldwell@unr.edu
Adviser: Sudeep Chandra
Research Areas: aquatic ecology, fisheries, climate change ecology, ecosystem ecology


Kristin L. Charles

Tim Caldwell

Biology
kcharles6@gmail.com
Adviser: Jamie Voyles
Research Areas: disease ecology and evolution of herpetofauna, conservation genetics, immunology, phylogeography


Miranda M. Crowell

Jane Dell

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
mcrowell@unr.edu
Advisers: Marjorie Matocq, Kevin Shoemaker
Website: Miranda's Site
Research Areas: behavioral ecology, population ecology, population genetics, chemical ecology


Jane Dell

Jane Dell

Biology
jane.dell@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Lee Dyer
Research Areas: neutral theory, fire ecology, and biodiversity


Anne Espeset

Anne Espeset

Biology
aespeset@unr.edu
Adviser: Matt Forister
Website: Anne's Site
Research Area: effects of anthropogenic changes on ecology and evolution


Jake Francis

Jake Francis

Biology
jacob.franci@gmail.com
Adviser: Anne Leonard
Website: Jacob's Site
Research Area: pollination, nutritional and behavioral ecology


Jared Fuller

Jared Fuller

Biology
jfuller@unr.edu
Advisers: Mary Peacock
Research Area: conservation genetics and landscape genetics with a focus on desert endemic fishes


Lanie Galland

Lanie Galland

Biology
lgalland@unr.edu
Advisers: Thomas Parchman, Mary Peacock
Website: Lanie's Site
Research Area: comparative evolution, genetic architecture of adaptive traits, hybridization and introgression, conservation genomics, and genome divergence


Andrea Glassmire

Andrea Glassmire

Biology
glssmr33@gmail.com
Adviser: Lee Dyer
Website: Andrea's Site
Research Area: tropical chemical ecology


Joshua M. Hallas

Joshua Hallas

Biology
jhallas@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Thomas Parchman
Website: Josh's Site
Research Areas: systematics, population genomics, phylogenetics, marine speciation, biogeography


Joshua G. Harrison

Joshua Harrison

Biology
joshuaharrison@unr.edu
Adviser: Matt Forister
Website: Josh's Site
Research Areas: plant-insect interactions, symbioses, fungal endophytes, drivers of community assembly


Levi Jaster

Levi Jaster

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
ljaster@cabnr.unr.edu 
Adviser: Jim Sedinger
Research Area: avian population ecology


Ericka Kay

Kelly Klingler

Biology
ekay@nevada.unr.edu
Advisers: Lee Dyer & Matt Forister
Research Areas: plant-insect interactions, quantitative ecology, biodiversity


Kelly Klingler

Kelly Klingler

Biology
kbklingler@unr.edu
Adviser: Mary Peacock
Website: Kelly's Site
Research Areas: conservation genetics, movement dynamics, climate change


Dovid Kozlovsky

David Kozlovsky

Biology
dkozlovsky@unr.edu
Adviser: Vladimir Pravosudov
Research Areas: animal behavior, behavioral ecology, cognition, avian ecology


Alan Leach

Alan Leach

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
aleach@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Jim Sedinger
Research Areas: spatiotemporal dynamics of masting in oaks, quantitative avian ecology


Will Lumpkin

Will Lumpkin

Biology
spencerwpl@hotmail.com
Adviser: Lee Dyer
Research Area: aquatic mosquito community ecology and habitat complexity effects on diversity


Danielle C. Miles

Sabrina Morano

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
daniellecmiles@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Kevin Shoemaker
Research Areas: herpetology, bats, human-nature interactions, climate change, conservation


Nadya Muchoney

Sabrina Morano

Biology
nmuchoney@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Angela Smilanich
Research Areas: plant-herbivore interactions, chemical ecology, evolution of diet preference in Lepidopterans, ecoimmunology


Zachary Nelson

Zachary Nelson

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
znelson@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Peter Weisberg
Website: Great Basin Landscape Ecology Lab
Research Areas: plant community ecology, fire and succession, spatial simulation modeling, avian behavior, habitat suitability modeling


Danny P. Nielsen

Danny P. Nielsen

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
dannynielsen@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Marjorie Matocq
Website: Danny's website
Research Areas: evolutionary ecology, hybrid zone dynamics, desert ecology, differential dietary adaptation in a small mammal hybrid system


Nicholas Pardikes

Nicholas Pardikes

Biology
nickpardikes@gmail.com
Adviser: Lee Dyer
Website: Nick's Site, Plant-Animal Interactions Graduate Reading Group (PAInt)
Research Areas: understand the effects of plant secondary compounds on tri-trophic interactions between plants, insect herbivores, and their natural enemies


Devon Picklum

Devon Picklum

Biology
dapicklum@gmail.com
Adviser: Anne Leonard
Research Areas: bee behavior and learning, plant-pollinator interactions, floral evolution


Angela Pitera

Angela Pitera

Biology
apitera@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Vladimir Pravosudov
Research Areas: avian behavior and cognition


Thomas Riecke

Thomas Rieke

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
triecke@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Jim Sedinger
Website: Thomas's site
Research Areas: avian ecology and demography


Gabriela Rios-Sotelo

Gabriela Rios-Sotelo

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
gabriela18@gmail.com
Adviser: Jamie Voyles
Research Areas: disease ecology, ecoimmunology, global health, herpetology


Cody Schroeder

Cody Shroeder

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
cschroeder@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Kelley Stewart
Research Areas: wildlife ecology and conservation
Dissertation Title: Implications of differential migratory patterns in mountain-dwelling herbivores


Ben Sedinger

Ben Sedinger

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
bsedinger@gmail.com 
Adviser: Kelley Stewart
Research Area: avian population dynamics


Heather Slinn

Heather Slinn

Biology
heather.slinn@gmail.com
Advisers: Matthew Forister, Angela Smilanich, Lee Dyer
Website: heatherslinn.com
Research Area: pathogens, fungal endophytes, tri-trophic interactions, community ecology


Phillip Street

Phillip Street

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
pstreet@cabnr.unr.edu
Adviser: Jim Sedinger 
Research Area: population ecology


Charles Truettner

Charles Truettner

Geography
charles.truettner@gmail.com
Adviser: Franco Biondi
Research Area: dendroecology, ecological niche modeling, stable isotope geochemistry, ecohydrology, climate change


Kathyrn Uckele

Kathryn Uckele

Biology
kuckele@unr.edu
Adviser: Thomas Parchman
Research Areas: chemical ecology, population genomics, plant-insect interactions


Alexandra Urza

Alexandra Urza

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
alexandra.urza@gmail.com
Adviser: Peter Weisberg
Research Areas: landscape ecology, biogeography, plant community ecology


Margarete Walden

Chava Weitzman

Natural Resources and Environmental Science
mwalden@nevada.unr.edu
Adviser: Kevin Shoemaker
Research Areas:  population ecology, herpetology, conservation biology, terrestrial vertebrate physiology, species' responses to climate change


Chava Weitzman

Chava Weitzman

Biology
clweitzman@unr.edu
Adviser: C. Richard Tracy
Website: clweitzman.weebly.com
Research Areas:  ecology and evolution of pathogens and parasites


Su'ad Yoon

Su'ad Yoon

Biology
suady@nevada.unr.edu
Advisers: Matt Forister & Angela Smilanich
Website:  Su'ad's website
Research Areas: ecological immunology, invasion biology, evolutionary ecology


Maya Zawlodzki

no photo

Biology
mayamayaz@yahoo.com
Adviser: Jeanne Zeh & David Zeh