Our Program
Social Psych Club
Applying News
UNR's main page
Program Alumni

News Archive

June 2010

The Social Psychology Club reinstituted the end of the year club awards that were created in the 2007-2008 academic year. This year's club awards had three categories: Service Award, Mentor Award, and Spirit Award. Each award was intented to represent a different area of positive contribution to the club and the students in the Social Psychology program. Possible recipients were nominated by their peers, who had the opportunity to write a brief statement detailing how the nominee had made an impact on their experience in the club. Winners were chosen based on the content of the statements, which were reviewed by a committee of graduate students (who were not nominated for an award and had not themselves nominated another student) and the faculty advisor for the club. This year's winners were:

Service Award: Dana Weiser
Mentor Award: Jenny Lowman
Student Spirit Award: Angela Broadus

Several students were nominated for the awards, each of which received an honorable mention.

Service honorable mention: Val Lykes, Vicky Springer
Mentor honorable mention: Camille Brown, Lyssette Chavez and Josh Padilla
Student spirit honorable mention: Janice Russell, Lorie Sicafuse and Alex Sigillo

April 2010

The UNR Graduate Student Association held its annual awards ceremony, which once again featured outstanding students from Social Psychology. Of the university-wide top 10 Outstanding Graduate Student Awards given out this year, four went to Social Psychology: Camille Brown, Robyn Maitoza, Vicky Springer, and Irem Uz (each receiving a $650 scholarship). Ada Diaconu-Muresan was recognized as an Outstanding International Graduate Student ($1,000 scholarship). Kristy Cahoon and Irem Uz tied for second place in the Paper Competition in the Liberal Arts / Education / Business / Journalism division and Irem Uz was also honored with a first place award in the Poster Competition, also in the Liberal Arts / Education / Business / Journalism division ($650 scholarship). Congratulations to our outstanding students!

April 20, 2009

Social psych was well represented among those who received awards at the UNR Graduate Student Association banquet Friday night.

There were 3 Outstanding Graduate Student Awards (which each include a $650 award): Vicky Springer, Shane Moulton, and Dana Weiser and 1 Outstanding International Graduate Student Award (which includes a $1,000 award): Ada Diaconu-Muresan.

Also, Monica Miller received a graduate student mentoring award.

Congratulations to all who participated in the process!



Congratulations to Dr. Monica Miller who was selected to receive the 2008 Dean's Award for Research and/or Creative Activity in the College of Liberal Arts!

The award will be presented at the College's award ceremony on May 1, 2008.

Congrats to Ada Diaconu for winning one of the Outstanding International Graduate Student Awards at the 2008 Graduate Student Association Awards Banquet!



Social psychology PhD students who entered the 2007 UNR Graduate Student Association (GSA) awards competition were very successful, taking home both cash and honors.

Five social psych students received  6 awards at the 2007 GSA Awards Banquet:

Julie Singer: Outstanding Graduate Student Award
Ada Diaconu: Outstanding International Graduate Student Award
Kati Toth: Outstanding International Graduate Student Award
Irem Uz: Second Place Poster Award and Third Place Paper Award
Kerry Kleyman: Third Place Poster Award


Congratulations to social psychology and HDFS faculty member, Bill Evans! Bill was selected as the UNR "Distinguished Outreach Faculty Award" recipient for 2006.


Congratulations to Kati Toth, Julie Singer and Alayna Jehle who were named Outstanding Graduate Students at UNR in 2006 by the Graduate Student Association, and received a monetary award as well.


Congratulations to our own Christine Aramburu-Alegria who has been selected by UNR's University Studies Abroad Consortium (USAC) to teach in Puebla, Mexico for a year starting in July '07. Similar honors have been bestowed on our own Deborah Ballard-Reisch who will be teaching in Torino, Italy starting in July '07, also for a year.

Welcome Drs. Greer and Stedham!

The faculty have recommended, and the Graduate School has concurred, that Dr. Jennifer Greer (Journalism) and Dr. Yvonne Stedham (Managerial Sciences) be included as members of the faculty of the interdisciplinary doctoral program in social psychology. Dr. Greer will have half of her role designated to the social psychology program, similar to the positions of Drs. Monica Miller and Markus Kemmelmeier. Look for information about them soon on the Faculty webpage link. We are pleased to have these two new colleagues join the program and look forward to opportunities to work together.

Congrats to Dr. Devereux!

Dr. Paul Devereux, graduate director of the University of Nevada, Reno’s School of Public Health, and faculty member for the Social Psychology Program, is the recipient of this year’s award for Public Health Leader of the Year. You can read the full story here.

Congratulations, Professors!

Congratulations to Dr. Judith Sugar who has received the inaugural Sanford Center for Aging Faculty Scholar Award! The award honors those who have contributed to education, research, and service in aging over time in an exceptional manner.

Congratulations to Dr. Deborah Ballard-Reisch for being selected as a Woman of Achievement. She is to be honored at the Nevada Women's Fund luncheon on May 10, 2005.

Dissertation Defenses

Congratulations to Mara Merlino, Andre Walton, Patrick Bennett, Roni Dahir, Yvonne Vermudez, & Ricardo Marte for succcessfully defending their dissertations this April!!! Way to go, guys!

GSA Spring Awards 2005

Congrats to students in the program that won awards at this spring's GSA awards!
Sue Harris won 1st place in the
Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, and Business Poster Category. Julie Singer won Outstanding Graduate Student and 2nd place in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Education, and Business Paper Category. Also, Joyce Letner was co-author on the 3rd place poster winner with K Pruitt of Public Health.

Congratulations to Professor Tom Wright!

Tom, who is a member of the faculty of the interdisciplinary social psychology graduate program at UNR and a professor of organizational science in the College of Business Administration, is featured in the Jan.17 issue of TIME magazine.  The article, "Thank God It's Monday," highlighted his research that underscores employee happiness is a far more influential factor on workplace productivity than previously believed.

New Faculty Members Join Social Psychology

The Social Psychology program would like to welcome new faculty to the program!

The faculty have recommended, and the Graduate School has concurred, that Dr. Paul Devereux (Health Ecology) and Dr. Karen Kopera-Frye (Human Dev & Family Studies) be included as members of the faculty of the interdisciplinary doctoral program in social psychology. Both Dr. Devereux and Dr. Kopera-Frye hold doctorates in psychology and particular expertise in social psychology. We look forward to their contributions in facilitating the research and training of doctoral students, and to working together as colleagues in the program.

University of Nevada, Reno
Maintained by:jsinger42@gmail.com
Last Modified: 9/21/10

| Our Program | Handbook | Applying | Faculty | Students | Program Alumni | Social Psych Club | Resources | News | Copyright Information|

Questions/Comments? Please contact the current webmaster

UNR Interdisciplinary Social Psychology Program
Mailstop 300
University of Nevada, Reno
Reno, NV 89557