Welcome to the RIFNM 06 archive website.   Use the menu above to access photographs and text information documenting the variety of activities that took place during RIFNM 06

A special thanks to all the artists who participated in this unique event and to all the people who helped make this event possible!   These include: Ellen Drewes, Kathy Wood, Ben Tedore, Kathleen Auyeung, Tracey Gaffney, Wendy Ricco, Kevin Ghiglieri, Anthony Alston, Larry Engstrom, Rachel Hartsough and Mike Fernbach.

We are quite pleased to announce tentative plans (pending funding) to host the RIFNM 08 in the Fall of 2008.    

The 1st Reno Interdisciplinary Festival of New Media (RIFNM 06) highlighted an international selection of work by graduate and Phd students working with digital technologies for the creation of art.   Artists working in and across disciplines were invited to submit works to be considered for five interrelated events/venues: exhibit , netart , perform , project (full-dome) and present .   The resulting festival schedule of events presented a unique opportunity to directly experience innovative work being created by a diversity of emerging artists exploring digital systems for visual and experiential production.

www.newsreview.com/reno- a featured article about the festival in the Reno News and Review

Participating Artists/Affiliations:

Arthur Elsenaar and Remko Scha, Sheffield Hallam University, United Kingdom
Gudmundur S. Gunnarsson, Mills College
Sabrina Berryman, University of Utah
Margaret Noble and Edyta Stepien, School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Jolanta A Lapiak, NSCAD, Nova Scotia, Canada
Martin Machado, San Francisco Art Institute
Suzanne Yo Martinsen, University of Central Florida
Pete Froslie, Massachusetts College of Art
Alejandro Duque, European Graduate School, Switzerland
Jamie Timms, University of California, Santa Barbara
Mike Godwin, University of California, Santa Barabara
Conor McGarrigle, National College of Art & Design Dublin, Ireland
Stephanie Jeanjean, Graduate Center of CUNY (City University of New York)
Melissa Grey and Robert Kirkbride, The New School, New York City
Pamela Kray, The New School, New York City
So Jung Kwon, Otis School of Art and Design, Los Angeles
Si Jae Byun, School of Visual Arts, New York City
Walter Nelson, Griffith University, Australia
Stephen Cady, University of Illinois, Chicago, School of Art and Design
Jeanne Jo, Rhode Island School of Art and Design
Jake Lee High, Massachusetts College of Art

This event is sponsored by the Benna Foundation for Excellence in the Fine Arts, The University of Nevada, Reno, Department of Art, The Sheppard Fine Arts Gallery, the Fleischmann Planetarium and Science Center, and the Nevada Museum of Art.

All photos by Brian Sweeney, copyright 2006






N Home University of Nevada, Reno
Maintained by: art@unr.nevada.edu