1,403: In-State Travel
Revised: July 2014
College or departmental regulations must be followed for in-state travel. An "Employee's Travel Request" form does not need to be submitted to the Controller's Office unless a travel advance is requested.
In-State Allowable Travel Expenses
Persons traveling in-state shall receive reimbursement for meals at the federal U.S. General Services Administration (GSA) per diem rate listed for that locality. For trips of 24 hours or less employees must be more than 75 miles from their duty station to receive reimbursement for meals. Lodging should only be claimed if the traveler incurred lodging expenses. For GSA surveyed (listed) areas in Nevada, no exceptions will be allowed to the GSA federal per diem lodging rate. For GSA non-surveyed (not listed) areas in Nevada, exceptions may be made up to 150% of the federal per diem lodging rate for each specific destination.
If a personal vehicle is used for the convenience of the employee, the employee will be reimbursed at one half the rate established when using a personal vehicle for the convenience of the university. Employees using personal vehicles for the convenience of the university will be allowed reimbursement at a rate equal to that allowed as a deduction under federal income tax laws. The current reimbursement rates can be found at the Campus Business: Travel website.
When registration fees provide for a meal, employees should not request additional reimbursement for the meal. When a meal is provided at an event and is listed as an optional item on the registration form at a cost exceeding the state reimbursement rate, the excess amount will not be allowed as part of the registration fee. The employee is personally responsible to pay the excess amount.
Individuals in in-state travel status may claim per diem meal reimbursements for the following time frames:
- Breakfast: 12:01 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.
- Lunch: 10:01 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
- Dinner: 3:01 p.m. - 12:00 a.m.
Breakfast per diem will not be reimbursed for travelers who depart their home city after 9:00 a.m. Dinner per diem will not be reimbursed for travelers who return to their home city before 5:00 p.m.
When employees receive free meals or lodging, no reimbursement is allowed.
Reimbursement for Employee travel claims will not be paid if they total less than $10. Employees may submit multiple trips together so they total more than the minimum reimbursable amount.