A non-resident who enrolls in an institution of the Nevada System of Higher Education (NSHE) shall continue to be classified as a non-resident student throughout the student's enrollment, unless the student demonstrates that his/her previous residence has been abandoned and that the student is a Nevada Resident. Residency of dependent students is established by the domicile of parents or guardians. As long as students remain dependent on non-resident parents or guardians, they cannot qualify for resident status. Residency of an independent student will generally be established by their physical domicile and residency in Nevada for at least 12 months immediately prior to the date of matriculation.
A student can show Nevada Residency by asking their NSHE institution to write a letter (on school letterhead) stating they took classes at their institution and were considered a Nevada resident while they were in attendance. They can fax the letter to admissions and records at (775) 784-1025. Please ensure your full name and student ID are on the letter. Once we have received the letter, your tuition in MyNEVADA will reflect in-state residency.
A student is considered a "Resident" of the state of Nevada for tuition purposes under the following conditions:
This program is no longer available. If you currently enrolled as Good Neighbor you must remain continuously enrolled for the regular semesters in order to retain the reduced tuition benefit. If there is a break in enrollment, you will lose Good Neighbor and will not be eligible to receive it again and the student will be moved to an Out of State tuition program.
Please go to Tuition Discounts: WUE for the most up-to-date information.
Child of Alumni reduced tuition program is no longer available. Students already on a Child of Alumni reduced tuition program must not have a break in enrollment (fall and spring semesters) to remain on the program. Once a student has a break in enrollment, the student will be moved to an Out of State tuition program.
* Students who attend the university in a Good Neighbor, WUE or Alumni reduced tuition program shall not be reclassified as a resident student unless the student has been subsequently enrolled as a non-Good Neighbor, non-Alumni or non-WUE non-resident student for at least 12 months immediately prior to date of application for reclassification to resident student status.
The Board's following action applies retroactively only to students who were new to the Nevada system Fall 1995 through Spring 2004 Semester.
On January 30, 2004, the Board of Regents unanimously approved an amendment that would bring its residency requirements in line with Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS 396.540). Nevada law states that individuals whose families (defined as natural or adoptive parent or legal guardian) reside in Nevada may gain resident status if the family has established bona fide residency in Nevada at the date of the student's matriculation. Individuals whose families live outside of the state may gain resident status if the individual has been a bona fide resident of the state of Nevada at least twelve months prior to matriculation.
For further information on residency requirements: